Microsoft Error messages

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Nod Newbie, Oct 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nod Newbie

    Nod Newbie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Hi, I keep getting a pop-up "Microsoft Has encountered an Error and has to close."send/dont send".It says the problem lies with my anti-virus and they have talked to eset about it and they both have not come up with a solution to fix it.When I got a hold of ESET support last time,I was directed to download Nod again.Ok I did that and it was ok for awhile.Now it's back to doing this all over again. It's quite annoying,if I,m working on something I lose all my work. Any suggestions that will help?Thanks
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Nod Newbie, I would do the following:

    1. Download a fresh copy of NOD32 from HERE

    For help with entering your Username and Password please see HERE

    2. Uninstall your current version.

    3. REBOOT your Computer.

    4. Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    5. Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above using “Typical Settings”.

    6. Check your settings against the following Nod32 Tutorial

    7. Repair Winsock

    8. Repair IMON; see post number 40 HERE

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Nod Newbie

    Nod Newbie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Ok I will do that again tomorrow :( , it's too late here for me to go through all that tonight. Thanks blackspear.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Nod Newbie

    Nod Newbie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Hey Blackspear, Please excuse my ignorance but it says for repair winsock,then says for Winxp ,my system is win 2000 proffesional does that matter?
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I am not Blackspear but ...
    I believe this tool (WinsockXPfix) should work for Windows 2000 , too .
     
  7. Hermescomputers

    Hermescomputers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,069
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, eh?
    I would just like to point out that this tool failed to repair Winsock after I used the settings from Blackspeer and it craped out my Winsock! It was easy enought to fix thought delete reg keys and re-install TCP-IP...

    Just a word of caution for those using Win XP Pro X64 like I am. It might kill your Winsock to use it.
    Blackspeer your settings are great but this function should not be used unless a problem was identified. Unlike what I did!!! :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Imon.jpg
      Imon.jpg
      File size:
      65.3 KB
      Views:
      233
  8. Nod Newbie

    Nod Newbie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Oh Great now I'm totaly confused.:doubt: .I think it might be best if I just leave that winsock alone,I am not too computer savy if anything goes wrong.I will just have to reinstall Nod every couple weeks i Guess:( .That's how long it lasts till I get microsoft error messages.Thanks all
     
  9. Hermescomputers

    Hermescomputers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,069
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, eh?
    Maybe you have nothing to worry about. Keep in mind the setup that failed was XP X64 and not 2000. Chances are it will turn out ok for you.

    Just the same if you run into problems you can go to the following post: Post #81 (See Right end of post up right corners)
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=462132#post462132

    Or for your convenience here is the content:

    Proceed with the following to delete the corrupted registry keys, and then reinstall the TCP/IP protocol.


    Step 1. Delete the corrupted registry keys

    1. Click Start, and then click Run.

    2. In the Open box, type regedit, and then click OK.

    3. In Registry Editor, locate the following keys, right-click each key, and then click Delete:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Winsock

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Winsock2

    4. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click Yes.

    NOTE: Restart the computer after you delete the Winsock keys. Doing so causes the Windows XP operating system to create new shell entries for those two keys. If you do not restart the computer after you delete the Winsock keys, the next step does not work correctly.



    Step 2. Install TCP/IP

    1. Right-click the network connection, and then click Properties.

    2. Click Install.

    3. Click Protocol, and then click Add.

    4. Click Have Disk.

    5. Type C:\Windows\inf, and then click OK.

    6. On the list of available protocols, click Internet Protocol (TCP/IP), and then click OK.

    7. Restart the computer.

    8. Repair IMON; see post number 40 HERE
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    The Tutorial does not advise you to click on this Repair button, unless the user is advised to do so. It repairs the TCP/IP Stack.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please follow my directions and you will be fine, this tools also works on Windows 2000.

    Cheers :D
     
  12. Hermescomputers

    Hermescomputers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,069
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, eh?
    Sorry for clouding the issue. I simply wanted to say that the Winsock repair tool failed on Windows XP X64 at least in my case the manual method was the only option...

    All the best!
     
  13. Nod Newbie

    Nod Newbie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Ok I followed the instructions and repaired winsock and did the IMON thing. I noticed on the Imon thing it said that it was disabled and to click start to enable it.Which I did. I'm usually ok for about a month then my computer starts acting up again. I will let you know if the fix worked in a month. Thanks E1 for your Help. Have a good Weekend:)
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    What you have seen is normal, did you then go into IMON's setup and click on "Repair"?

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2006
  15. Nod Newbie

    Nod Newbie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Sorry for the slow response,I was'nt sure if I did or not,so I just did it now. I will let you know how it goes. Thanks again Blackspear.
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.