message.pif

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by IT_matt, Mar 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    Hi, I'm just fresh with NOD32 and still a bit nervous in the usage and different protection. Before i had NAV2003. This morning i received 2 emails which clearly were viruses containing an attached .pif file. NOD32 let them in without any warning.In such case, NAV would have deleted and blocked them, but this didnt happen with NOD32. I do not have the HTML preview of the message,since i am using The Bat as email client, but i am wondering if these file are auto-executable and if not : would NOD32 detect them in case i double-click them? Of course i would never do that, but...
    Thanks
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    IT matt,

    Could be your setup. Please forward the emails in question to me; my ady is in my profile ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  3. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    Hello Paul,
    unfortunately i deleted them. It was the usual subject : re.Hi
    and the attached file was document.pif with a text like "catch the wabbit!". No doubt it was a virus.
    If i receive othersi will contact you and forward.

    Regarding my settings - i chose deep scan for all the modules and included ALL FILES for the extension.
    This morning - BEFORE receiving such emails anyway - for some reason i couldnt enter the menu for the extensions and also couldnt plan any action. It seems i am encountering such kind of errors randomly since i installed the NOD32.
    o_O
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    By all means send me a copy next time; it's hard to reproduce this without files ;)

    Let's start with the IMON setup; could you post some screen shots?

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    first screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  6. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    attach 2
     

    Attached Files:

  7. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    if i try to click the scanner settings inside the IMON, i receive an error message o_O
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    matt,

    Setup seems OK - you might try going to the advanced setup and put the slider in the middle.

    As for the error popping up: are you sing the right O/S profile while trying to change this?

    Propably unnecessary, but I'll take it yoúr last update reveals v1.673?

    regards.

    paul
     
  9. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    Hello Paul, thanks again.
    On the updates window,it appears that the updating is INACTIVE since yesterday.Any attempt to connect to the server today failed and also under INFo, the right window is blank.I thought its a malfunctioning of NOD32 but all the other modules seem working fine. I tried reinstall the proggie, but nothing change.What could be? I atteched some screen,and apparently i am unable to change the updating or plan it.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    the screen shot where u can see the updating is inactive o_O
     

    Attached Files:

  11. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    the blank window where usually should be all the info.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hi Matt,
    sometimes happens that infected attachments are not completely removed on a mail server but are only truncated. If that's the case, NOD32 can no longer report them as infected as they are no longer harfmful. Please send those files to samples@nod32.com so that we can confirm or deny my assumption.
     
  13. IT_matt

    IT_matt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Trieste,Italy
    Hello Marcos,
    next time i will forward to the quoted email.
    For the above topic instead, i simply restarted my pc and.......wham! the info on NOD32 showed up again and i could also update it to latest virus definition.But i am wondering why it jammed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.