McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8 Patch 3 available

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Chubb, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.8 Patch 3 is now available. This release includes new features, fixes, and enhancements including:
    • Support for Windows 8 and Server 2012 ONLY
    • Enhanced root-kit detection
    • Improved Artemis performance for large files
    • Default Global Threat Intelligence (Artemis) sensitivity of "Medium" for new installations
    • Includes resolved issues from Patch 2
    Both Patch 3 and full installer with Patch 3 integrated are available. Inside the full installer, you will find "SetupVSE_Win8.Exe" and "VSE880_Win8.msi" for Windows 8.

    To download this release, go to the McAfee downloads site at:
    http://www.mcafee.com/us/downloads/downloads.aspx.


    For a full list of changes, see the Release Notes in PD24224:
    https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=PD24224.



    For a list of Known Issues, see the knowledgebase article KB75923:
    https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB75923.


     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Does anyone on these forums use McAfee anymore? o_O
     
  3. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
    difficult to come across someone who uses McAfee see here
     
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    As mentioned here many times before, the Home and Enterprise versions are completely different products.

    I have used the Enterprise version on one of my laptops for years without any problems.
     
  5. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    I installed trial McAfee IS last week kinda for fun (i quite like the new refreshed GUI) - 6 month free trial is availble on Facebook AV Marketplace. Promptly got infected with Met Police UKash ransomware which totally jammed up PC. I can confirm that McAfee did nothing and is still in it's long coma, no sign of this sleeper 'waking up' (Copyright 2012-13 trjam) ;)

    Had to shut down & reboot into safe mode, uninstall McAfee, reboot into safe mode with networking install BDIS, update, restart and BDIS dealt with the threat promptly and got rid, restart as normal, full scan fine. Quick check with MBAM and HMP all well.

    Shame. For some reason i have a soft spot for McAfee i can't shake. I kinda want it to improve, and am sad it shows little sign of doing so.
     
  6. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    Agree!:D

    The home version is bloated:p
     
  7. er34

    er34 Guest

    I still can't understand why big enterprises (there are many who do) still use McAfee on their machines - there are so many other better products. I don't even think McAfee's reputation that big.
     
  8. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Paris
    I totally agree with you, although I'm not complaining! My company's growth is due to mitigating damage caused by Corp's using such substandard junk like Mcafee and Sophos. What is really inexcusable is interrogating the IT execs as to why they use it in the first place. Invariably their main concern was the ease with which all appliances can be brought under the Firewall; the fact that any reasonably efficient hacker or relatively new piece of malware can penetrate the defenses did not seem to be of any concern.

    I'm still very curious as to why Intel bought the company.
     
  9. er34

    er34 Guest


    I have my own theory which resembles my other theory. Rich people have a lot of money and they wonder what to do with them. And the result is always buying tons of useless junk. Intel guys have a lot of money and they decided even they had too much to their understandings - that is why they bought McAfee :D
     
  10. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    We use the Enterprise version where I work, for several years now. AFAIK, there aren't too many complaints, it seems to do its job well enough. I will say that while running a scheduled scan, my pc bogs down something awful. I haven't checked any usage numbers, but they have to be awfully big while scanning. It's light enough when idle though.
     
  11. er34

    er34 Guest

    But you don't use it at home ? You don't, do you ?
     
  12. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Not a chance of that...lol...:D
     
  13. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    the primary intent is to have mcafee and intel teams collaborate on developing integrated hardware/software security solutions for computers running intel chipsets. regardless of whether that goal is met, mcafee is profitable and intel likes money.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ibrad
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,420
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.