Mcafee update DAT version??

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Paradutch, Sep 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paradutch

    Paradutch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Paraguay
    Hi

    today i downloaded the mcafee Virusscan from the site that was given earlier here on this board (netwest...something) by a poster......thanks for that:)
    I signed up...downloaded it and installed it...no probs. I didn't choose it's firewall as i am very content with free kerio 2.1.5:)

    However something funny i did noticed...as i was ready with updating after installing it my DATversion was: 5120.000

    however on this site:

    http://www.dozleng.com/updates/index.php?act=calendar&cal_id=1&code=showevent&event_id=43179

    it told me they allready had another (newer) Dat version....

    HUH??

    AM I something missing here?? my Machine is Windows XP with SP2 and latest updates. As a FW I use kerio 2.1.5 free version.

    I tried several times to update manualy but the program just said that there were no newer updates availeble.
    I don't understand this policy. I mean normaly after a fresh install you would think you have the latest antivirus sigs (DAT)....apperently NOT so with Mcafee.

    Anyoneo_O?

    TIA

    Para.
     
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    this is never the case, with any AV, updates need to be downloaded after installation.

    dont trust any websites with info, just use the updater located in mcafee till it tells you there are no more updates available. :)
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    here is the updates from today 09/17/07 Edit. it just updated again
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 17, 2007
  4. sasa843

    sasa843 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe
    Hi,

    Also don't be surprised if sometimes Mcafee informs You that You have the latest updates bu that's actually is not correct. On this link You can check what is the latest DAT published. Just try updating Your Virusscan a little bit later.

    The link is http://vil.nai.com/vil/DATReadme.aspx
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma


    according to your link I do have the latest (5121) I have been useing McAfee off and on for close to twenty years and they have always updated pretty well..
     
  6. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    My Comcast McAfee shows I have 5121.
     
  7. Paradutch

    Paradutch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Paraguay
    Thanks guys,....it updated 3 hours ago.,...:)

    all is OK now...

    Para
     
  8. sasa843

    sasa843 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe
    Hi,

    Actually it updates very well just sometimes I noticed that it informs me that I have the latest updates and when I go to that link it shows that there is a new update available. Neverthlless, the next time I click on Update Now it updates without any problems.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.