Mcafee Total Security 2014

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by tomdy2k, Feb 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    So far no problems...Light, unlike Kaspersky that slows me down....I know John Mcafee hammers on it but when he had the company it would only find stuff already on my computer..never cleaned good or blocked anything

    Anyone else try it lately?:D
     
  2. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,126
    A couple of days ago I had to configure
    my Mom's new Win8 laptop, which included
    the proverbial ClassicShell instalation.

    After everything updated, upgraded and
    so forth I uninstalled the included McAfee
    product and... surprise, things were noticeable
    snappier and faster.

    Glad to see not a lot changed since my first
    McAfee experience back in 2008.
     
  3. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    Another AV with 'Total Security' in the name. Haiz...
     
  4. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    I ran McAfee Internet Security for a week or so (6 months back) and it seemed pretty light but that was just one attempt (was free because my company used it). I thought it was somewhere between Norton and Kaspersky (on browsing), Kaspersky being a little slower. Just another opinion....
     
  5. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Shazam...As I type in Real Time...I was intrigued with this post...too the point of re-installing McAfee I.S.2013...like Rompin Raider I last installed about two months back. I'm running a Full Scan at the moment...and plan on keeping it on Audition mode for at least one Full Week. On my set-up a McAfee Record...as usual don't jump to conclusions...Stay Tuned...for Upcoming Details. Sincerely...Securon
     
  6. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    It's hard to keep up with your changes...are you documenting everything? :D I thought it ran pretty well, better than expected.
     
  7. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    It's sure not as rubbish as the one sporting CantCloseGap.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    imo i can honestly say i find it lighter then kis. i still would not run it myself because it does cause a decent slowdown. but it is for sure (for me at least) better then 2013 version.
     
  9. woodsy7909

    woodsy7909 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    United States
    I haven't used McAfee for years. My issues were not so much with the resource usage of the program, but with McAfee recent reputation of false positives have kept me away from it. I think they had a false positive not long ago that bricked a ton of machines not too long ago.

    if they get their false positives under control, I amy go back to trying them out.
     
  10. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    The only thing I like about McAfee/Intel Security is mcpr.exe and John's crazy videos. o_O
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.