McAfee Total Protection 2010 Beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by vijayind, Aug 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  2. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Looking forward to see what has changed. I like their AV but I disslike all the firewall, cleaner stuff that is integrated to the AV part. I just want a clean av, and for that I have trust in McAfee.
     
  3. dell boy

    dell boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    240
    Location:
    uk, england
    aww i lost all trust a while before, wouldnt touch their beta.
     
  4. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    377
    I hope that they will improve thier proactive protection.
     
  5. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Out of curiousity, I checked the website.

    I couldn't find any information about changes.
    Does anyone know ?

    I have no intention to become a beta-tester.
     
  6. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    you don't need any invitations...........goto their beta website and setup a beta-account......and then choose the sign-up option.............
     
  7. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    LOL he said intention not invitation :D
     
  8. dell boy

    dell boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    240
    Location:
    uk, england
  9. databb

    databb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Posts:
    14
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    the GUI looks nice, ill give it that much...
     
  11. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    ya i mis-read it...........
     
  12. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    I like the tray icon too :D
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    working good here
     
  14. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    Can anyone with Process Explorer post a screenshoot with Working Set & Private Bytes of Mcafee Processes?
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I am not at home now, but if no one does today, I will for you.

    I will say this, it isnt the old McAfee anymore. The GUI is very well laid out and you dont have to dig through 40 layers to find what you want. Speed? As fast as the rest that are quick. Very nice GUI.

    My only complaint is that it doesnt allow you to not install certain modules. Parental control is deactivated on installation. Neta license good through rest of year.
     
  16. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    Does anyone know if McAfee 2010 has the "Artemis Technology"?

    Thanks.
     
  17. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    Yes it is. Artemis is built in the engine and DAT files, so even if you have 2009, or try 2010, it's the engine and DAT version that counts.
     
  18. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Good to hear. McAfee is like a completely different AV with Artemis.
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    this reminds me of when Norton went from 2008 to 2009. There is about as much marked improvement of this version of McAfee over last years.
     
  20. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    Has there been significant improvement in detection?

    Thanks.
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    err, yeah. here
     
  22. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    Well, after a decade poor performance I stopped keeping tabs on it. So sue me for not being more informed about it.
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    cant fault you there.;)
     
  24. noblelord

    noblelord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    162
    Location:
    UK
    I have been put off of the so called big players (McAfee, Symantec etc) for some years as I thought their performance was over-rated. I tried McAfee in 2004 and found it to be next to useless and slowed the system to a crawl. However after testing their 2009 beta and now the 2010 beta, I have changed my mind somewhat. Artemis improves detection rates dramatically, and living with the ocassional false positive isn't a hardship!
     
  25. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Does that mean you can't uninstall the SiteAdvisor ? I stopped using it when it started collecting way too much data, and there were other issues as well.

    What about the SystemGuards ? They were some kind of HIPS, at one point McAfee decided to disable most of them by default.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.