McAfee Prepares New Antivirus Engine

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Bo9us, Apr 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bo9us

    Bo9us Guest

    McAfee Prepares New Antivirus Engine

    By David Worthington, BetaNews
    April 1, 2005, 8:09 AM

    McAfee is preparing to test a new antivirus scanning engine. The 5000 series engine is the core mal-ware detection and repair component for much of McAfee's security software product line up. The beta schedule begins with Beta 1 in early April and concludes with a release to the Web in September.

    Some promised changes include elevated protection against current, new and future threats; faster scanning without sacrificing detection rates; and "drop-in" compatibility with existing McAfee software. McAfee also intends to improve the engine's automatic identification and removal capabilities. Information on joining the test can be found on the McAfee beta Web site.

    http://www.mcafeesecurity.com/us/downloads/beta/engine/5000eng.htm
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Hence the release of VirusScan 10.0 and Enterprise 9.0i in late Summer.

    I am sure that the new Engine will keep McAfee near the very top for detection.

    Now if only they could slim down the Home AV product to the much leaner Enterprise version!
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2005
  3. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    And also dump the Security Shopping Center.
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Honestly, VirusScan 7.0 had a better interface than the current versions - these versions give me headaches!
     
  5. DanThMan

    DanThMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Personally, I'll stay away from McAfee's products!
    Lot of bugs, bad programming which is causing lousy interaction
    with OS's and other soft/hardware.
    This is one of my favorites.....
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2001/10/26/email_deletion_bug_baffles_mcafee/
    also look at the related stories down the page...
    old story, but still scary
    The net is full of issues such as installation problems, uninstallation problems and
    so on...
    Do a google on "mcafee problems"....It's a lot of issues :'(
    I've "repaired" a lot of computers, just by uninstalling their products!
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    This may or may not be true for the Home products but not IME with the Enterprise versions.

    The Enterprise AV versions have proved to be very stable, lean and generally lightweight in their effect on system performance.
     
  7. mikel108

    mikel108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,057
    Location:
    SW Ontario, Canada

    You crack me up!!! :D

    Thats the funniest way I have ever heard that put.
     
  8. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    I agree with this, never had a single problem with their Enterprise products (both AV and Firewall).. Just nice software...
     
  9. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    donsen't every antivirus make a new scan engine for every new product once a yearo_O

    does this mean the new Mcafee scan engine have better detection than Kaspersky scan engine??
     
  10. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    same here mcafee always messed up my o/s and used %100cpu
    they should bring out something like pc cillian suite/
     
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    They generally modify the engine, as opposed to producing a completely new one. For some AV products this modification is taking place all the time. For others, the actual engine shows much smaller changes over time.
    We can only wait and see. But by then KAV 6 will be out and the cycle continues!!!!
     
  12. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Um...McAfee's scan engines will be available as updates to older VirusScan users too :)
     
  13. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    How about that. I will look forward to friend BigC's comments on it especially when he tests it out. :)
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I really believe from what I have read and the disscussion I have had with mcafee developement that it is going to be an outstanding scan engine. I will be waiting it's final release. I have already seen the beta.

    bigc
     
  15. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    KAV and McAfee are two outstandning products and I would feel good with either of them on my desktop. I am very disappointed with KAV 5.0 (I would describe its interface and mechanics as being chaotic) but hopefully they have learned their lesson and will come up with a clean and easy to understand 6.0. version.

    Rich
     
  16. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    All good comments. Hopefully they will clean their act up. I haven't even looked at their home version for a few years because of all the crap associated with it.

    rich... did you get a chance to play with KIS 6.0? It looks pretty good.
     
  17. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi tazdevl,

    Nope, haven't tried out KIS 6.0 yet. I hope that this time around Kaspersky has come up with a clean design and architecture so that it is easier to stabilize and use the product. The core scanning and detection system is excellent so I am looking forward to version 6 (I understand that they are ditching ADS). I will also be looking at McAfee, especially as McAfee goes to a daily update model. I am glad that both products are available to users such as myself.

    Rich
     
  18. RadicalEdward

    RadicalEdward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    I've never had any resource problems with Mcafee. I've got Enterprise 7.1 and it runs smooth with everything on my computer, and I've got a lot of junk on it.
     
  19. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    McAfee VirusScan V9.0.2005

    which version is this the new one? MD
     
  20. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just read a lot of replies on the mcafee 5.0 engine beta forum. In the early stages they had a few major problems with the beta. but it is starting to shape up into a good engine. A bit more work and it should be kicking malware butt.
     
  21. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    when is the beta avaliable to the public? Big c :eek:
     
  22. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    there are quite a few already testing it. But the public release of the beta is supposed to be this month.
     
  23. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    cheers thanx I have got a subcription to Mcafee but dont use it.do id imagine if i was using my old mcafee it would update the new engine anyhow later in the yr?? might wait for that..see comments..thanks MD . :)
     
  24. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    even my mcafee 7.03.6000 will update to the latest engine and dats.
     
  25. Big D1

    Big D1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    Ha...Ha...LOL. That is so true. Wish they would get rid of it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.