McAfee flaw leaves users wide open

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by ronjor, Mar 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    Story
     
  2. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    http://secunia.com/advisories/14628/

    Solution:
    The vendor recommends applying the latest .DAT files and updating to AV scanning engine version 4400.

     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2005
  3. Marja

    Marja Honestly, I'm not a bot!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    In the Vast Fields of My Mind
    I knew I should have left McAfee alone, ~sigh~ .

    Thanks Ronjor and Lynchknot!!!
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    Marja

    Flaws happen in all software. Just keep your programs updated.
    That is all any of us can do.
     
  5. Lebowsky

    Lebowsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    ok, but this isint the first time i have read about a vulnerability in Mcafee, they seem to occur more in Macafee than in Kaspersky.

    i have been using KAV for almost a year, i remember doing an upgrade in a version, but i dont think any such vulnerability warning was issued .

    ok, this is a personal opinion, but i really think Mcafee and Norton{a.k.a. bloatware inc.} are NOT your best options for an antivirus app.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.