McAfee flaw leaves users wide open

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by ronjor, Mar 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,262
    Location:
    Texas
    Story
     
  2. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    http://secunia.com/advisories/14628/

    Solution:
    The vendor recommends applying the latest .DAT files and updating to AV scanning engine version 4400.

     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2005
  3. Marja

    Marja Honestly, I'm not a bot!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    In the Vast Fields of My Mind
    I knew I should have left McAfee alone, ~sigh~ .

    Thanks Ronjor and Lynchknot!!!
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,262
    Location:
    Texas
    Marja

    Flaws happen in all software. Just keep your programs updated.
    That is all any of us can do.
     
  5. Lebowsky

    Lebowsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    ok, but this isint the first time i have read about a vulnerability in Mcafee, they seem to occur more in Macafee than in Kaspersky.

    i have been using KAV for almost a year, i remember doing an upgrade in a version, but i dont think any such vulnerability warning was issued .

    ok, this is a personal opinion, but i really think Mcafee and Norton{a.k.a. bloatware inc.} are NOT your best options for an antivirus app.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.