McAfee Firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by tom772, Jul 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    AS you guessed it my question ,is about McAfee firewall plus.

    What do you all at Wilders think of it?

    How do you compare it with others like kerio, zonlab, LnS, Norton etc?

    How does it run with Kas, McAfee, Nod32 and Bitdefender antivirus protection?

    What features does it have?



    ;;:)thanks guys/girls
     
  2. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    I guess no one like it? oh well ;)
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have used mcafee's firewall through several versions and it seemed to work just fine. I don't have anything bad to say about it. ;)
     
  4. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    In the field of photography, there is a well-known axiom:

    "Careful photographers run their own tests."

    -rich
    ________________
    ~~Be ALERT!!! ~~
     
  5. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I can second bigc's opinion.....I've used Personal Firewall Plus and found it to be very good, and very informative. It may not be as "customizable" in certain aspects as some, but it passed on all of the leak and port tests that I put it through (showing all ports were stealthed). I especially like the detailed info....regarding the number of blocked inbound events, the date and time they occured, and the Source IP addresses of attempts that were blocked as well as the tracing and reporting (through HackerWatch) features that it offers.

    Overall, I'd say it is very good, and very under-rated. Most of the independent tests and reviews that I have seen for it give it high marks as a quality firewall as well.
     
  6. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    Thanks guys! i have used it and just wondered what people thought of it!:)
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    here is a list of the PC Firewalls that are certified by ICSA.
     
  8. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Just received the last of 7 emails from people whom I asked about their firewall, 4 use McAfee. Unscientific survey, but interesting results.

    I still suggest, however, that you test several yourself.

    -rich
    ________________
    ~~Be ALERT!!! ~~
     
  9. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    big c i know your not the firewall mod, but if you were recommending a really good firewall that was hard as nails, blocks port scans/pings tec etc what would it be?

    Another question is would McAfee work well with Kas or Nod32?


    cheers
    Tom
     
  10. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have used mcafee firewall with both Nod and Kav. As far as which firewall I would choose ?, I really think the new ZoneAlarm ver.6 is going to be a good one. I tried it and it really runs a lot lighter than the last few versions. Actually I couldn't sense any system drag from it. I am behing a hardwall firewall so really all I want out of a soft firewall is app. control. And the new ZA 6 seems to do that well.

    bigc
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2005
  11. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I had good luck with McAfee Firewall but am ultra-impressed with Look N Stop's Firewall. Its easy to run, ultra light and tops most of the firewall tests I have seen... :eek:
     
  12. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Most current software firewalls will do a good job blocking unsolicited inbound packets. It really boils down to what configuration options and other functionality you may want out of a firewall.

    I have not heard of any conflicts.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  13. chia

    chia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    I've just started using McAfee Personal Firewall Plus over the last week, thought I'd give it a try since my ISP gives it to their subscribers for free. I must say that I'm impressed with it. I, like some others here, also like the details and info it provides. No problems with my other security apps (GData AVK & BOClean). It does what I need it to do and I'll probably end up keeping it on here for awhile. :)
     
  14. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    cheers guys and girls!
     
  15. dread

    dread Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    I love it myself. Seen several other firewalls that when you hit allow a app to get on the net and have full rights that wouldnt happen, you have to go in and open the port on the software firewall lol. Seen problems with several firewalls not allow remote assistance even if you told it to allow remote assistance. Seen others if you allowed the app and ran a security check what ever port that app was running would be open when you ran the security check. Mcafee has none of them problems.
     
  16. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    I just discovered that Comcast allows me to use this free - it looks like for the length of my Comcast high speed internet subscription. That's very tempting, as it's a solid firewall with IDS.
     
  17. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    When you allow an app full access in McAfee's firewall, aren't you giving that app server rights? I'm not that familiar with McAfee's firewall, so I'm not sure. I don't want to give any app server rights unless it's absolutey necessary. I'm used to Zone Alarm, and maybe McAfee's firewall works differently.
     
  18. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    Just give it outbound access.
     
  19. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    For some reason that didn't work with all the apps when I tried it a while back. All the McAfee stuff and IE went back to allow full access after rebooting.
     
  20. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest


    All the McAfee services will need full access to the internet as well as the following>

    > Application Layer gateway Service

    > Win 32 Services

    > Services and Control App

    Any other services programs should either have outbound or block access to them. The only other thing that should have full access is Firefox or IE,

    hope this helps

    T
     
  21. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Yes it does. Thanks Tom
     
  22. Tech-2005

    Tech-2005 Guest

    Zone Alarm Pro 6 is really awsome !!!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.