MCAFEE enterprise 8.5

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by shoe, Jun 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    I would like to hear fron anyone running it.
    Thanks
     
  2. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    8.5??

    Whats different, updated?.
     
  3. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    I want to talk to someone who is running it before I install it
     
  4. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    I used it the last month, it's really nice... It's very easy to use and offers neat options to make life easier :)
     
  5. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Notice any PC performance issues?
     
  6. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    Very light. On this machine, feels a lot faster than Outpost, Sygate, and ZoneAlarm.
     
  7. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    I can agree with this, worked without a problem, thinking about switching back to it :)
     
  8. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Hey Thanks Guys.
     
  9. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    What exactly are the neat options that make life easier? Are there a lot of popups? Does it configure easily?
     
  10. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    It has very less popups and it has options like "Allow untill program terminates" for example after that the rule gets deleted, very easy for setups that need access :)
     
  11. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Do I need to install client for Microsoft networks prior to installing firewall?
     
  12. q1aqza

    q1aqza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    I found this very light also < 10MB ram usage. I stopped using it as I couldn't find any decent reviews on it's abilities.

    Re your Q about client for MS networks - I think that is for your home network so if you only use internet then you may not need it. Best to search Microsoft for an answer on that one though as I could be giving you a bum steer.
     
  13. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Just installed Running great
     
  14. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    whats is the difference between macafee personal and this 8.5 vesion i went to thier webb site and it looks like you have to buy for 11 computers.
     
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Desktop Firewall is mcafee's corporate firewall meant for businesses whereas their Personal Firewall Plus is a retail product meant for consumer/home use. im sure most of the features are the same, tho the Personal Firewall Plus probably has more features for protecting privacy.
     
  16. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    thanks for the heads up been running op 2.7 and just today installed the mac personal plus just to check it seems ok so far.
     
  17. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    I tested it out a month?? or so ago. I wasn't able to stealth Port 0 at GRC... or TCP ping packet, TCP NULL packet, TCP FIN packet, TCP XMAS packet at Pcflank. YMMV. It used about 20 MB RAM with just firewall (no ids/no application creation or hooking). I didn't like the rule creation mechanism as much as Kerio 2.1.5. The GUI looked pretty but I think the stuff behind the GUI may be rather old.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.