McAfee Enterprise 8.5 beta 3

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by eBBox, Aug 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    nope havent tryed it but oddly your pc has almost the same specs as mine lol.

    i got 3200 amd 64bit and ati 9800 radeon and 1gb of ram
     
  3. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Maby you shold try it out then too :D
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    what other av's have you tryed on your system? and how light where they e.g. nod32 kaspersky and so on
     
  5. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    tried everything... almost :D
    this is what i tested recently - I like software where Im able to tweak the settings so software like nod32 really attracts me ;)

    All software tested on both my laptop and desktop.


    KAV 2006 - Light when running but very slow pc startup

    McAfee Total Protection 2007 - Light but slow pc startup (i really liked the antivirus!!)

    McAfee Enterprise 8.5 beta 3 - Fast startup and running!

    Trend Micro 2007 beta - Slow slow slow in every way. Didnt handle large files (iso's, rars ect.) very well!!

    Symantec 2007 beta - Much lighter than previous versions - But many errors (beta) so i dumped it quick

    Antivir 2007 beta - Lightest suites of them all! very fast startup, but got tired of that "expired 27 days" box :D

    Nod 32 2.5... fast with settings maxed - both startup and running

    Bitdefender 10 beta - pretty light both startup and running.



    Looking forward testing: symantec 2007 when working and Comodo 2, Norman 6 & Nod 3
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks for the useful info. for kaspersky did you use the startup scan?
     
  7. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Nope, turned off. My laptop slows down way to much when turned on. I presume KAV doing its job so good, that it's not needed :D Unfortunatly it just didnt work well with Comodo so :thumbd: ;)
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I have tryed quite alot of av's. i have tryed kav 6.0 both relased version and lastest beta. nod32 2.5 is a good av and cant wait to try version 3.0. im looking for lighter secuirty software, av, firewall and antispyware or HIPS.

    by antivir 2007 beta do you mean antivir premium with firewall beta?
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
  9. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i once tried the entreprise version and it had a completely different UI and stuff...
    how is it different from the normal mcafee AV??
     
  10. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Premium :) It was not just faster than the other suits - It was almost just as fast loading as NOD 32 2.5 - Impressive - The other Companies could learn something here...!

    It will be very exciting to see if NOD creates a firewall as good as their antivirus and as light!
     
  11. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Its much lighter with more options and of course can be managed remotly like any enterprise antivira.

    And nod32 it is seperated in modules of some sort with a lot of settings for each:

    acces protection
    buffer owerflow protection
    email scanner
    unwanted programes policy
    on acces scanner
    quantine manger policy
    full scan
    autoupdate

    Theres a long beta test period so give it a try- easy to remove if u dont like it ;)
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    do you think antivir is gives enough protection with no http scanner?
     
  13. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Yes I do. The other day i wanted to do some leaktests and the antivir killed every single program i tried to dload. I also tried some of all thes nasty porn sites and nothing got in except the pictures :D
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    wow its that good
     
  15. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    .. and mcafee total protection did the same.

    Note this is not a crusade for McAfee. Just telling that I dont think their products sucks like many people think thay do ;)
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I have always thought that the enterprise versions have better features interfaces use less resourse and and better detection but of course as a home user i dont have acess to them lol
     
  17. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    When you say Light? Do you mean it "feels" light or light by numerical value? i.e by watch its CPU resources usage over time and general VM usage and Working Set.
     
  18. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    iirc, mcafee vse doesnt give u the option of "prompt" or "ask" when a virus is found. is this still the same?

    i will install it on my windows x64 machine later today.
     
  19. sick0

    sick0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Posts:
    143
    yes, you can configure it to show a window where you can delete, deny, clean etc..

    default action is clean...
     
  20. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    so you can u set default action to prompt?
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2006
  21. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    to answer my own question, u can set it to prompt for on-demand scans but not on-access.

    the AV seems light but it does have a few processes and it uses more memory than either nod32 or kav.

    i wish they had a firewall to test tho, i need something for x64.
     
  22. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Well i gave up i keep getting BSOD when installing it and i dont seems to have a way to uninstall it too.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.