McAfee AV free for a year

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by halcyon, May 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. halcyon

    halcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    373
  2. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Sweet, thanks. I registered and it went through w/o problems. I was looking for something to install on my little sisters computer.
     
  3. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Good catch halcyon, Thanks! ;)
     
  4. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    Thanks:thumb:
     
  5. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    thanks,will the license work for 2008 also?
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Nice catch indeed. I hope it's Vista compatible though...
     
  7. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,315
    Hello,
    Why does it require a special downloader...?
    I really wonders ...
    Mrk
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It's like this for very long. There is no catch really. It's McAfee Security Center which then also downloads all the components.
     
  9. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Thats how you get McAfee if its not in the box.



    tD
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    the link dont work.
    i clicked on the first link got to the offer and clicked on register and cannot find the page.
    i was gonna get it for my neighbour as an upgrade from the 2006 version.
    lodore
     
  11. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Good one, thanks halcyon! :thumb:
     
  12. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    The server is little busy. Keep trying. So many people hate this product and yet...I guess the magic word here is FREE.:D



    tD
     
  13. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    That's true. But even if it is free it is not for me, lol.
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,896
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    it will work better if you use IE to download it instead of opera or firefox.
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    thanks BigC i was using opera the first time.
    i will click download when i want to install it next door since i dont know if it automacally installs or not.
    wouldnt want two av's installed by mistake:D
    got it now.
    lodore
     
  16. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    it downloads and install automatically...........as for vista compatiblity
    Link:-go here
     
  17. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    anyone knows will this subscription work for 2008 version also?
     
  18. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Sweet, i love free offers. I've already signed 3 people up :). Sign up and d/l works fine with firefox.
     
  19. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,171
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Noscript gave me a warning about an XSS and blocked it.
     
  20. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Registered, installed just antivirus and so far it's running well. :D
     
  21. Stephan123

    Stephan123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    The netherlands
    Thx for the offer

    I have heard that Mcafee Virusscan Plus 2007 is heavy on system resources, can someone please explain and give a opinion about the product. Thanx:)
     
  22. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,896
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma


    Unless your comp is really old with limited resources you will never notice it running. It actually runs very light.:thumb:
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2007
  23. Stephan123

    Stephan123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    The netherlands
    I got a Intel 2,8 ghz, 1,5 gb ram,Geforce 6800 GT and 190 gb of harddisk space.
    I think its not so old. I will try it
     
  24. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,078
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Don't worry, its not old at all! :D
     
  25. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO

    I'm using on my old laptop which is a 1.6 centrino with 512M of RAM and a 40 gig drive... It seems to run just fine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.