McAfee AV free for a year

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by halcyon, May 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. halcyon

    halcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    373
  2. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Sweet, thanks. I registered and it went through w/o problems. I was looking for something to install on my little sisters computer.
     
  3. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Good catch halcyon, Thanks! ;)
     
  4. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    Thanks:thumb:
     
  5. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    thanks,will the license work for 2008 also?
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Nice catch indeed. I hope it's Vista compatible though...
     
  7. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    Why does it require a special downloader...?
    I really wonders ...
    Mrk
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It's like this for very long. There is no catch really. It's McAfee Security Center which then also downloads all the components.
     
  9. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Thats how you get McAfee if its not in the box.



    tD
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the link dont work.
    i clicked on the first link got to the offer and clicked on register and cannot find the page.
    i was gonna get it for my neighbour as an upgrade from the 2006 version.
    lodore
     
  11. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Good one, thanks halcyon! :thumb:
     
  12. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    The server is little busy. Keep trying. So many people hate this product and yet...I guess the magic word here is FREE.:D



    tD
     
  13. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    That's true. But even if it is free it is not for me, lol.
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    it will work better if you use IE to download it instead of opera or firefox.
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks BigC i was using opera the first time.
    i will click download when i want to install it next door since i dont know if it automacally installs or not.
    wouldnt want two av's installed by mistake:D
    got it now.
    lodore
     
  16. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    it downloads and install automatically...........as for vista compatiblity
    Link:-go here
     
  17. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    anyone knows will this subscription work for 2008 version also?
     
  18. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Sweet, i love free offers. I've already signed 3 people up :). Sign up and d/l works fine with firefox.
     
  19. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Noscript gave me a warning about an XSS and blocked it.
     
  20. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Registered, installed just antivirus and so far it's running well. :D
     
  21. Stephan123

    Stephan123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    The netherlands
    Thx for the offer

    I have heard that Mcafee Virusscan Plus 2007 is heavy on system resources, can someone please explain and give a opinion about the product. Thanx:)
     
  22. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma


    Unless your comp is really old with limited resources you will never notice it running. It actually runs very light.:thumb:
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2007
  23. Stephan123

    Stephan123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    The netherlands
    I got a Intel 2,8 ghz, 1,5 gb ram,Geforce 6800 GT and 190 gb of harddisk space.
    I think its not so old. I will try it
     
  24. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Don't worry, its not old at all! :D
     
  25. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    I'm using on my old laptop which is a 1.6 centrino with 512M of RAM and a 40 gig drive... It seems to run just fine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.