Mcafee 8.5i

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by shoe, Apr 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Running Mcafee 8.5i onVISTA home premium.
    When I right click the icon in the task barand select disable on access scanner it is grayed out.
    I have opened the console and in access scanning unchecked prevent mcafee services from being stop also unchecked it in common standard protection any ideas?
     
  2. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    After unchecking "prevent McAfee services from being stopped" and "prevent termination of McAfee processes" in the "action protection properties" section I can disable the real-time scanner after unchecking both options, clicking apply, and then clicking ok. I'm running XP BTW...

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v219/NAMOR/mcAfee.png
     
  3. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Same here on both of my XP machines but it is not working on VISTA
     
  4. shuzai75

    shuzai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    hi sir/madam.... well im a newbie in this forums... do not know how to make a new

    thread/post.... can i ask a question related to this mcafee 8.5i OAS

    because i can't disable the on access scan.... they said that i have to

    uncheck the dialog box of preventing mcafee services from being stopped

    so that i can click the grayed out disabling of OAS, but even the dialog box

    is grayed out and i can't uncheck it, .... (windowsXP) what can i do please

    help me what should i do to uncheck the dialog box so i can disable my OAS

    i will really appreciate your help tnx alot God Bless....:)
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2007
  5. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    It is a known flaw and will be fixed with patch 3 which is due for release mid october
     
  6. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Note ypu van disable on access scan from with in yhe virus scan console
     
  7. shuzai75

    shuzai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    can you please teach me the steps... please....

    the dialog box is grayed out too...

    the [GLOW="red"]prevent mcafee services from being stopped[/GLOW]
     
  8. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Do you have enable access protection checked in the access protection properties box?
     
  9. shuzai75

    shuzai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    where can i see that sir please give me full instructions....
     
  10. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
  11. shuzai75

    shuzai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    yes sir it is enabled (checked) but it is grayed out all of the boxes are checked but grayed out how can i ungray them.....I'm starting to lose hope for that i can't click them....
     
  12. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ibrad
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,405
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.