Mcafee 8.5i

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by shoe, Apr 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Running Mcafee 8.5i onVISTA home premium.
    When I right click the icon in the task barand select disable on access scanner it is grayed out.
    I have opened the console and in access scanning unchecked prevent mcafee services from being stop also unchecked it in common standard protection any ideas?
     
  2. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO

    After unchecking "prevent McAfee services from being stopped" and "prevent termination of McAfee processes" in the "action protection properties" section I can disable the real-time scanner after unchecking both options, clicking apply, and then clicking ok. I'm running XP BTW...

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v219/NAMOR/mcAfee.png
     
  3. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Same here on both of my XP machines but it is not working on VISTA
     
  4. shuzai75

    shuzai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    hi sir/madam.... well im a newbie in this forums... do not know how to make a new

    thread/post.... can i ask a question related to this mcafee 8.5i OAS

    because i can't disable the on access scan.... they said that i have to

    uncheck the dialog box of preventing mcafee services from being stopped

    so that i can click the grayed out disabling of OAS, but even the dialog box

    is grayed out and i can't uncheck it, .... (windowsXP) what can i do please

    help me what should i do to uncheck the dialog box so i can disable my OAS

    i will really appreciate your help tnx alot God Bless....:)
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2007
  5. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    It is a known flaw and will be fixed with patch 3 which is due for release mid october
     
  6. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Note ypu van disable on access scan from with in yhe virus scan console
     
  7. shuzai75

    shuzai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    can you please teach me the steps... please....

    the dialog box is grayed out too...

    the [GLOW="red"]prevent mcafee services from being stopped[/GLOW]
     
  8. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Do you have enable access protection checked in the access protection properties box?
     
  9. shuzai75

    shuzai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    where can i see that sir please give me full instructions....
     
  10. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
  11. shuzai75

    shuzai75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    yes sir it is enabled (checked) but it is grayed out all of the boxes are checked but grayed out how can i ungray them.....I'm starting to lose hope for that i can't click them....
     
  12. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.