MBM PRO Resource Usage?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by GrammatonCleric, Aug 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    I have MBM PRO LIC but I do not run in in Real Time just on Demand.
    Mainly because I have OA++ and NOD 5.0 running in RT.

    Now the question is:
    How resource hungy is MBM PRO if I were to run it in real time? Any massive impact on resources? Conflicts with other sec apps?

    Win 7 64bit is my sys.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    it's very light;)
     
  3. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Hi GrammatonCleric
    When it runs Idle it use approximately 40 mb ram on a windows 7 64 bit platform, but i do not feel any slowdown, so in that way it is light. :thumb:

    Regards

    NoobStick
     
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    Outer space
    It's a lot lighter since the latest major update, just activate the realtime protection from the GUI to try it out and if you don't like it you can easily disable it :)
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
  6. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    I'm running Pro on three XP SP3 32-bit systems. Typical metrics pulled from Task Manager:

    mbamservice.exe
    87,700 K Mem; 141,600 Peak; 86,700 VM
    mbamgui.exe
    5,700 K Mem & Peak; 3,000 K VM
     
  7. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    This describes my experience with MBAM PRO as well.
     
  8. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    very light indeed..feather like my friend?:argh:
     
  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,529
    Location:
    Sweden
    I too have noticed that it's a lot lighter in real-time lately... or maybe it's because I bought an SSD a month ago.
     
  10. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    Very light, works fine on a netbook.

    Memory usage doesn't matter on a modern machine, but here is a snapshot of mine:

    mbamservice.exe
    • working - 39,000k
    • Peak working - 154,000k
    • Commit size - 100,000k
    • I/O reads - 14,000

    mbamgui.exe just adds another 2500k to commit size. Disk i/o could easily change.
     
  11. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,962
    I agree with others, it seems to run lighter now than maybe a month or two back.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.