MBM PRO Resource Usage?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by GrammatonCleric, Aug 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    I have MBM PRO LIC but I do not run in in Real Time just on Demand.
    Mainly because I have OA++ and NOD 5.0 running in RT.

    Now the question is:
    How resource hungy is MBM PRO if I were to run it in real time? Any massive impact on resources? Conflicts with other sec apps?

    Win 7 64bit is my sys.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it's very light;)
     
  3. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Hi GrammatonCleric
    When it runs Idle it use approximately 40 mb ram on a windows 7 64 bit platform, but i do not feel any slowdown, so in that way it is light. :thumb:

    Regards

    NoobStick
     
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    It's a lot lighter since the latest major update, just activate the realtime protection from the GUI to try it out and if you don't like it you can easily disable it :)
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
  6. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    I'm running Pro on three XP SP3 32-bit systems. Typical metrics pulled from Task Manager:

    mbamservice.exe
    87,700 K Mem; 141,600 Peak; 86,700 VM
    mbamgui.exe
    5,700 K Mem & Peak; 3,000 K VM
     
  7. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    This describes my experience with MBAM PRO as well.
     
  8. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    very light indeed..feather like my friend?:argh:
     
  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I too have noticed that it's a lot lighter in real-time lately... or maybe it's because I bought an SSD a month ago.
     
  10. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    854
    Very light, works fine on a netbook.

    Memory usage doesn't matter on a modern machine, but here is a snapshot of mine:

    mbamservice.exe
    • working - 39,000k
    • Peak working - 154,000k
    • Commit size - 100,000k
    • I/O reads - 14,000

    mbamgui.exe just adds another 2500k to commit size. Disk i/o could easily change.
     
  11. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I agree with others, it seems to run lighter now than maybe a month or two back.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.