MBAM's Bad IPs

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by nikanthpromod, Jan 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Hiii
    Where can i find the list of malicious IPs that MBAM use??
    Thanks:D
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i think it is in built engine:)
     
  3. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    That's probably proprietary information :) My money's on the def db file though.
     
  4. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    oh ok.
    But its superb, Very effective:thumb:
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    for prevention is a very good idea firewall like:)
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Is there any way to disable it?
     
  7. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Some answers you can find here

    Gerard
     
  8. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    thanks:D
    That was really helpful.
    I found bad ips source.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    to disable the ip protection just rigth click and disable it:D
     
  10. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    As per mbam site http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=21076&st=0&p=107310&#entry107310 quoted by gerardwil :
    mbam ip protection pops up at times when nothing is actually being used.....even though nis/prevx/hitman and mbam itself find nothing......so what to make of it....a false alarm ?
     
  11. fcukdat

    fcukdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    England,UK
    Hi,

    The IP alert wont trigger unless it has intercepted traffic either to or from a black listed IP.

     
  12. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Couple of questions about how efficient ithe real-time protection/IP blocker is.

    No slowdowns with browsing etc? How much memory does MBAM running at all times use on your system?m:cool:
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it is very high here around 50 mbs and when scaning it is 87% to 90 % it is very slow when browsing also but the protection is top notch:D
     
  14. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    No slowdowns with browsing:thumb: . But some system slowdowns in my 9yr old pc:doubt:
    Memory usage :Around 45 MB always
     
  15. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Thanks for the info.
     
  16. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    That's way too complicated j/k. Now I remember why nobody ever asks me to go rattlesnake hunting with them.
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yes lol:D
     
  18. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    How's the IP blocker, many users found it has given notifications through general browsing?

    It's tempting. ;)
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it is very sensetive to malicious websites and some times legit sites too:)their databse is huge,i tested and almost all the time blocks ips
     
  20. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Good stuff. If they're putting a lot of time and effort into this, I could see this added to a few pcs (friends) that are running without any sandboxing.
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    the only thing they must work with in the slow down when scaning:D
     
  22. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    You mean the full scan, like a weekly scan?
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    well all computers are diferent plus i am in xp
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. FanJ
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    783
  2. NonGeek
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,670
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.