MBAM versus Screen Saver

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bellgamin, Oct 12, 2016.

  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,712
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (MBAM) is a main one of the 3 scanners I use on my computer every so often. MBAM takes a long while to run, so my screensaver always gets activated while MBAM is still scanning. When I return to check results, MBAM is gone. No report.

    QUESTIONS:
    1- Does the absence of a report of results mean that MBAM found my computer to be clean? OR (on the other hand) does the lack of a report mean that the activation of my screen saver caused MBAM to quit?

    2- Isn't the screen saver supposed to activate ONLY when the computer is idle? If so, doesn't the fact that MBAM is running mean that the computer is NOT idle?
     
  2. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,219
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I'm guessing the screensaver detects if the mouse is moving or not then start after awhile.
     
  3. Tarantula

    Tarantula Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Why don't you change it to blank? I never use screensavers.
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,609
    No, even if no threats are found the MBAM window should stay open. Something is making it crash.
     
  5. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    203
    bellgamin, are you saying that there is no scan result showing in MBAM's application log? Also, in Windows, the screensaver only activates if there is no activity on an input device such as a keyboard, mouse, or trackpad. Software activity will not keep a standard screensaver from starting.

    Can you share what screensaver you are using? I am pretty sure that my screensaver activates while MBAM is running with no bad outcomes.
     
  6. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    637
    Location:
    Baden Germany
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,712
    Location:
    Hawaii
    @ hamlet - I'm using Microsoft's built-in 3D Flower Box.

    @ hiltihome - I installed the jiggler. Thanks for the tip!!
     
  8. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    .... my edit above ^

    I have always used " Don't Sleep " ( free from softwareok.com ) when I want to leave a lengthy process running unattended .
    It's a great little utility and highly configurable .

    I started out coding a similar thing for myself years ago until it entered my thick head to search first :)
     
  9. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    550
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    I activated Mystify screensaver and then installed MBAM (scan IS kind of lengthy). When HD light went off, I made screensaver go away and the MBAM interface was still there.

    Is there anything similar on the Malwarebytes forums?
     
  10. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,869
    quietman

    I was just looking at the don't sleep site and they are listing up to windows 8.1 but not 10. do you know if it works on 10?

    ok scratch that!!!! I looked again and even though the one part I was referring to doesn't list 2 other places do.
     
  11. mood

    mood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1,737
    Since last year "Don't Sleep" has support for Windows 10: