MBAM scan

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Tarnak, Sep 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    Started a MBAM scan, then a Prevx scan started automatically, which seemed to slow the MBAM scan to a crawl. See screenshots showing FP's which I allowed to be trusted. Also, the Prevx scan restarted again. Seems a little confusing, perhaps.;)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Are they malware files in the recyle bin?

    TH
     
  3. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    No, I don't go looking for malware...intentionally, that is....:)
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You will have to this! It the fastest to get them fixed! Joe is in the UK so he would be sleeping now.

    TH
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    Yes...I realise this....He said he was off to the UK for awhile. :)

    I don't think it is so much as a FP problem, but more like this... see following:

    NB - I use the freeware version of MalwareBytes.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=251675&page=3
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1532944&postcount=70

     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    In the office in the UK :) Feel free to forward on any FPs using the instructions Triple Helix has pasted :)

    The slowdown you are experiencing actually shows that the realtime protection is working - we're scanning every file at the same time that MalwareBytes scans it. It is indeed not an optimal way to perform but many other AVs do it as well (McAfee in particular when Prevx is scanning). The problem with MalwareBytes+Prevx during the scan is that they load files in such a way that it looks like the files are about to run and there really isn't any way to differentiate without potentially hurting protection.

    However, if you right click on the Prevx tray icon, click "Stop Protection" and then click the dropdown arrow and select "Enable in 10 minutes", that will fully disable Prevx and allow you to scan much faster with MalwareBytes.

    Let me know if you have any questions with this - I've tried the new, test version of Prevx with MalwareBytes on Windows 7 and it no longer slows down, however, the issue may exist only on XP (I'll be investigating this closer soon :))
     
  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    I sent copy of the scan using the instructions pasted by Triple Helix.

    However, your research section will have received 2 emails, due an error in my Outlook Express. It was not configured correctly for outgoing. I rarely use it. I basically just use web based email.

    Will I get a reply letting me know what the outcome is...re FPs?

    I bet this way takes longer than when we had the former(now closed)FP thread. ;) :)
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You should have gotten a reply a few hours ago :)
     
  9. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    Thanks! I rescanned and it is clear once again. :)
     
  10. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    With me it used too take longer to scan and you could see prevx in the background scanning. Now I do not see this anymore. Makes me think that Prevx is sleeping sometimes.
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It depends on the files being scanned - Prevx can usually determine a file as legitimate very quickly so it won't need to rescan it constantly on every MBAM scan. If you haven't made major system changes, you probably wouldn't see Prevx pop up the "Authenticating Files..." message after running the first full system MBAM scan with Prevx enabled.
     
  12. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    OK. Thanks for that info.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.