MBAM PRO Download at CNET infected

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by twl845, Feb 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi all, I some how deleted my MBAM while cleaning house, so attempted to download a new copy from the MBAM site. Clicking for the Pro download I was sent to the download that appears at the CNET site. I clicked the run button on the window where upon the .exe file was downloaded to my desktop and the language window appeared. The various languages were scrolling wildly up and down and wouldn't allow me to see English so realizing something was screwed up I decided to start over and clicked the window off. I tried to navigate to my Download folder to delete the .exe file and with great difficulty because as windows was quivering I did. Then the screen froze so I did a hard shut down. I could not boot again as the computer emitted a ringing noise and wouldn't start, the screen being black. After a few more attempts, I for no particular reason hit the F1 key repeatedly and it finally boot. I accessed my scan screen on my Avast! AV and started a Quick scan. The scan produced 2 high priority viruses. Upon the scan ending I quickly quarantined the viruses and all was well again.
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Did you start at malwarebytes actual website or cnet?
    I just went to malwarebytes website and downloaded it from the Cnet link and got the actual installer.
     
  3. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,279
    Strange. I was sent to the TechSpot site.
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    FWIW, I started @ MBAM site, got redirected to CNET, downloaded the file, then scanned it with MBAM, VIPRE and HitmanPro. All good.
    But I'm not saying you didn't get a bad download, just reporting what I found.
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    When I went to malwarebytes.org and clicked download, I and was sent to techspot. The download showed clean (hash found) on VirusTotal and the digital signature shows Malwarebytes.
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I'm glad to hear the site is OK. As Page42 suggested, maybe it was an infected download. I just wanted to alert everyone so you wouldn't get stung. :)
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I started at Malwarebytes.org
     
  8. DrBenGolfing

    DrBenGolfing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Hometown of Van Cliburn
    Downloaded from Softpedia last night, no problems.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I believe you mis-clicked an ad with a download button. Very common to see these misleading ads.
     
  10. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Great reason to be running an ad blocker. :thumb:
     
  11. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    Admuncher, don't even miss those infected ads. Cnet is the devils spawn without a nice adblock.
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Seriously, MBAM oughta' know that and serve up their own downloads.
    Especially with the rep that CNET has.
     
  13. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    Fact is, they make money off PUPS, like everyone else, so they do a wet noodle job of protecting from them because they do not want to bite the hand that feeds them.

    They use the excuse of lawsuits for not blocking them, when the reality is - they profit from them.
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I always download it from majorgeeks.:thumb:
     
  15. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Another good alternitive would be Filehippo.
    www.filehippo.com
     
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    You're right my friend.:thumb:
     
  17. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    795
    I always download mine from Malwarebytes. You just have to know what version you want. :D
     
  18. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know how I mis-clicked an ad when the download button was the only one on the link that I was sent to. There were no ads visible.
     
  19. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I'm using an ad blocker. :)
     
  20. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    Its quite the opposite. We frequently get posts asking why we don't go after toolbars installed alongside other software.

    To profit from them we would need to be doing something about blocking and removing them but unfortunately we are blocked legally from calling these apps what they are.

    Why would anyone pay us to not block something and then not remove it?
     
  21. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    You are doing a good job avoiding a legal minefield. It only takes one wrong step.
     
  22. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Good man. I figured you were.
    I wish someone from MBAM would comment on the issue you encountered when downloading their installer from CNET.
     
  23. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I started a thread on their website and was basically told that they tested CNET and it's clean, and that it might have been the individual download that was infected. Then they gave me a few other sites like Major Geeks, and File Hippo where I could try to do the download. I'm going to stay clear of CNET any way. :)
    Funny that Avast! or SAS didn't pick up the virus on the fly, but Avast! picked it up when I ran the scan. Why am I running them real time?
     
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Can you give a link to that thread?
    I'm not real clear on the "individual download that was infected" part.
    TY
     
  25. iammike

    iammike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    SE Asia
    Can you give me a link to download it directly from them ??

    As the download button for the Free version (-http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free/- ) always redirects me to a download site outside of MalwareBytes.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.