MBAM 1.45 in beta

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Dermot7, Mar 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Saw at MBAM forum that 1.45 is now available (to honorary members) in
    beta, with release expected in next few weeks. Something to look forward to,
    I'd say.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    is there any thing new in this new beta realease?thanks
     
  3. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=38860

     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    alot of new stuff to it;) thanks
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i am going to wait for this realese:)
     
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    wow this sounds like a really great update, looking forward to it, finally solves some of the probs i had with using MBAM in realtime.
     
  7. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    They should also consider to change the GUI :ninja:
     
  8. HJO

    HJO Guest

    Hope they fix the problem with the OS.
    I can't run MBAM in 3 of our family's PCs.
    They admit it but they can't do anything about it.
     
  9. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    Have tested it, it's great and stable for me.

    I don't think it takes few weeks to release it. But, if they want to train heuristics, then this is time consuming :)
     
  10. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    Good News indeed
     
  11. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Agreed. It looks a little outdated. Even some sort of animated image during scanning and give us a percent as well. We have no idea how much time is left during a scan. Take 30 seconds at the start of a can to figure out how long it will take approx. and give us a progress.
     
  12. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Wow!
    MBAM is finally stepping up their game!
    I think their taking this too seriously. Not that it's a bad thing, no :D
     
  13. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    From what I have seen the new heuristic engine is very powerful :D
     
  14. syk69

    syk69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Posts:
    183
    Scan progress timer is definitely lacking and would be a very welcomed addition. Also an option to automatically clean temp files would be good so the scan doesn't waste time scanning those huge temp files.
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    the mbam pro real time shield is kicking some butts:cool:
     
  16. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    Indeed it does! I've tested it, and together with IP blocker, it's POWERFUL :D
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i also tested againts new malware and it performed very well:thumb:
     
  18. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I'm almost at the point of just using mbam and online armor- maybe something like prevx too- but ditching my real time av for some on demand scanners- hitman pro and something else.
     
  19. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I would strongly suggest against that. I purchased MBAM Pro and think it is a great compliment to an AV product, but it certainly is not good enough to run by itself IMO. In tests I've performed, my system got VERY infected with just MBAM Pro running. I don't think MBAM and Prevx would suffice either. Still think you need an AV.
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i tested both together prevx and mbam pro and one pick what the other missed but that is only a minor test of mine:D
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    but at least you know that mbam pro blocks almost all the nasty rouges/fake programs for sure without a problem:thumb: :thumb:
     
  22. BenMar522

    BenMar522 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Posts:
    67
    Totally agree! :thumb:
     
  23. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    It says "streamline interface", which I assume is the GUI. :)
     
  24. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    I am wondering why MBAM haven't yet implemented incremental updating, and
    think I read that it's getting nearer. Is this aspect particularly difficult, and if so
    why?
    Also, I don't really like the new logo, looks boring and unimaginative, and prefer the old one. Anyone agree?
    But overall think MBAM is excellent, and look forward to this new and improved version.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 16, 2010
  25. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    If that's the new logo, I think you're right. It's bland and unimaginative compared to the old one. :p
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.