Mbam 1.42 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Rules, Dec 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Europa
    Recent Changes

    * (FIXED) Minor issue during reboot after malware cleanup.
    * (FIXED) Various errors during scan.
    * (FIXED) Improved multiple heuristics.
    * (FIXED) Minor issue while removing items from ignore list.
    * (ADDED) Internet Explorer version included in scan logs.
    * (ADDED) Protection logs now show on Logs tab.
    * (ADDED) Ability to ignore blocked IP addresses permanently.
    * (ADDED) 64-bit compatibility for context menu.
    http://download.cnet.com/Malwarebyt...4572.html?part=dl-10804572&subj=dl&tag=button

    Rules.
     
  2. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Updated 1.41 to 1.42 yesterday evening.

    After three full scans, I am very impressed with this new version. It opens slightly faster and the scan time is half of what is was with version 1.41.

    Very well done ! :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  3. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    My scan time doubled after the upgrade to 1.42.

    1.41 @ 2:36
    1.42 @ 5:16

    Not a big deal by any means, but I thought that I'd point it out since some seem to experience a decrease in scan times.
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    My scan time increased by a relatively small amount... 27 seconds.

    1.41 @ 3:53
    1.42 @ 4:20
     
  5. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Scan time is relative and believe really shouldn't be considered that important, unless optimized but not at the price of the effectiveness of MBAM. Btw just like to say the guys at Malwarebytes, programmers and researchers are doing a fine job, thankyou!
     
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Hi Meriadoc. Maybe scan time shouldn't be considered that important, but it is. By that I mean, lots of us pay attention to it, and that's why devs like to mention enhanced scan times. If scan time took forever, many would consider other options. :)
     
  7. against

    against Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Anyone using the free version notice their "Check for Updates" button is ghosted out after updating to this version?
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Nope. Mine looks fine. Maybe try another reboot, or reinstall? :)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    mine looks fine as well.
     
  10. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Yeah I agree with you there that would be unworkable :) .
    And I'm sure mbam would only enhance a scan if it didn't loose effectiveness.

    Does Malwarebytes have a stand alone, mbam that doen't have to be installed?


    jmonge its always snowing in Calgary.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    no ther is no stand-alone and as i can see on their forums, its been suggested, i forget their exact reason, but they said they dont have any plans for it as far as i can remember.
     
  12. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    thanks firzen771.

    Mmm, wonder why.
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,924
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Removed a couple of Off Topic posts. Stay focused on MBAM and this thread will continue to live. Thanks!

    JR
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i knew it :) sorry for off topic:D
     
  15. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i think it was something like it wont work at full ability with a portable version, something like that IIRC.
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i wish they add sort of hips or a behabiour blocker to it's engine it will be a killer application able to block the most unknown malware out there in the jungle:D
     
  17. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    After I updated my Database version to 3292 in this new version I hit check for updates again and MBAM began downloading an update. I was then informed that the database had been updated from 3292 to 3292. I have never had this happen in MBAM before when there is no new update available. A small glitch in the new version maybe?
     
  18. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    I have seen this with MBAM a few times in the past.
    Try updating again, latest database is 3295.
     
  19. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Could not be happier about these 2 items. The reboot issue was MAJOR to me!
     
  20. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    OK, now this is hard to explain.

    Post #2 in this thread; I stated that scans were about twice as fast as with version 1.41.

    Now, the full scan speed is almost exactly the same as ver. 1.41.

    The only difference is that the first instance was MBAM 1.41 overwritten by version 1.42.
    Following a zero-fill, format, and reinstall of the exact same XP image (Macrium) on the same hard drive with MBAM 1.42 added via a clean install, the scan speed dropped.

    No huge deal by any means, but quite a surprise.

    ADDENDA:
    I found the problem. I disabled Mamutu and the scan speed again was much faster, essentially the same as this morning.
    4.26gb and approximately 99000 objects scanned in 3:13.
    With mamutu active, the scan speed was about seven minutes.
    Contrary to the above , there was another variable from this morning.
    Following the reinstall via Macrium, I had replaced WinPatrol with Mamutu.
    -So Mamutu caused the increase in scan time.
    -Again, no big deal. I like mamutu and it can be easily disabled if needed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  21. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Officially no but there is a plugin available for UBCD4Win that appears to work quite effectively.
     
  22. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    @andyman35 :thumb: thankyou for the reminder.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
  23. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    I wish they would address "self protection" in upcoming versions. The biggest problem I experience with MBAM is it's easily killed by malware. Often I can't install it or can't start it on infected systems. It can also be easily killed in the task manager. There are other anti-malware apps that are much more resistant so I know it can be done.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    victek123 what i do is that i protect mbam with my hips and apply a special rule to defend it againts termination/modification/deletion etc,etc there you go it is protected in real time;) and i hear you they must add this feature but mean while i am not waiting just use my hips to protected:D
     
  25. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    That's a great solution for an existing setup. It doesn't help me in the field though. I regularly come across badly infected systems and need anti-malware that can install and work in that environment - not many can. I've started using a 60 day trial of NIS 2010 which seems to be able to handle this situation (I need to try it on a few more systems). MBAM though is one of the best for finding and removing malware when it can be made to work.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.