Mbam 1.40 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Rules, Aug 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Europa
    Recent Changes

    * (FIXED) Runtime error on program start.
    * (FIXED) Improved memory usage during scan.
    * (FIXED) Minor updating issue.
    * (ADDED) Support for Bosnian and Korean languages.
    * (ADDED) IP blocking protection - never connect to a malicious website again!
    * (ADDED) Scan log now includes whether computer is in safe mode or not.
    * (ADDED) New command line parameter: /debugsave (see help file).


    Rules.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    cool:thumb: thanks and the ip blocking is very cool:thumb: :thumb: the malwarebytes developer should be the president:thumb:
     
  3. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    WTF? :D

    Anyway, have you tested the IP blocking yet, or do you just mean in theory? :D
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    this is new to me i have to tested;)
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    One of 2 best softwares on the market, but more of you should get the paid.
     
  6. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    Seems to be fine to me :)
    Definitely increases protection :)
    Estonian version, but still. Infection detected:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i have it:D
     
  8. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    What browser are you running when this is happening? Is it browser independent?
     
  9. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
  10. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    205
    The IP blocking is browser independent and it works on Windows 2000, XP, Vista and even preliminary testing with Windows 7. We hired one of the best to take over the rules for this project :). Hopefully it enhances protection dramatically.
     
  11. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    Glad I bought it , been happy with it indeed. Getting better all the time, I've seen it come along fine.
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    will this new ip blocking feature be allow to block virus sites also or just malware sites?thanks
     
  13. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Excellent feature for paid users.

    So I'm assuming, if a new rogue comes out, say Antivirus Warrior Chief, and you find it being hosted on 10 domains, the user is automatically blocked from those?

    Also, how often are the malicious domains updated, with the definitions each day?
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i read in the forum they say every day:)
     
  15. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    I few notes on what is blocked and IP list updates .

    The IP list will be updated and modified frequently and is part of the regular DB , as long as you update (or auto update) you will have the current list .

    This protection does not care what is at the bad IP , it just wont let the connection take place . This could be a rogue app server , malicious file or even annoying/malicious ads . Web sites on these servers should also not open at all .
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    man this is very handy:thumb: thanks for info
     
  17. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    My IP blocker is going insane, it keeps blocking an IP address that a Whois can't even find...and I don't even have a browser opened up when it happens. I hope it isn't blocking Avast from updating or anything. I DID do some P2P earlier, perhaps ghost connections are still being made and MBam is catching them? Or does it only pertain to websites? I've run an Avast and an MBAM scan and I'm clean except for a TCP patch that everything labels as malicious and I've since put on ignore.
     
  18. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    It is connections to known bad servers that are blocked . If you have IPs that you feel are not malicious at all being blocked please report them on the Malwarebytes support forum and we will research them .

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showforum=41
     
  19. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543

    Ahh, ok. Thanks for replying back so quickly, I was pretty much figuring it was connections still trying to be made after I closed my P2P application. In any event, once I turned Peerguardian back on, MBAM went quiet and hasn't made a peep since. I won't concern myself with it until it MBAM starts doing again without Peerguardian running and without having ran any P2P applications. Thanks again for such a quick response, I'll keep an eye on it.
     
  20. thathagat

    thathagat Guest

    great...well now the scheduled update frequency should also be changed from the default 12 hr to more frequent ones
     
  21. Retadpuss

    Retadpuss Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    226
    Blocking bad IPs is a good feature - A2 has had this for ages - and theirs is also configurable by the user - very nice!
     
  22. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    1. Does the silent (automatic) updating affect the performance when it occurs (?)

    2. and is the real-time protection still consisting of an always-prompting one, or has it become more automatic? I like the approach Quarantine known malware, since no one wants it - and, if necessary (guess it depends on accuracy, etc.), ask on heuristical detections. From what I understand IP blocking is at least completely automatic.

    3. Can anyone report on MBAM's overall lightness/affection on responsiveness on the system?

    4. What if the user is not active at the scheduled update? The software checks once the user power on the system the next time? The updates seriously needs to get "automatic" and inivisible. :)

    5. *Shrugs* the same type of detections like IObit does... HiJack-detections of things like forced hidden help and classic Control Panel. Could you at least make those kinds of detections unticked by default. This is the only thing MBAM found when doing a scan just now. :doubt: (Not that I wanted it to find threats - I've none :D - but that it finds these "HiJacks" at all just bothers me a big lot.)
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2009
  23. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    When I right-click on the M icon and choose IP Blocking, it never get a "tick" in front, which means I tried to enable it but it just didn't get a "tick" even I have chosen it several times. Have I missed something? It is on my XP with SP3. Thanks...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.