Maxthon v4.1.2.2000 released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Aug 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I didn't think that they could make Maxthon faster, it certainly seems it.
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  4. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Why does Maxathon browser phone out every 20 minutes or so when you are not using it? Why does it need outbound internet access so often if it's not even opened?
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I dunno. Ask Jeff Chen.
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the contact! I will ask him.
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I don't know how often he does Q & A sessions but someone should be able to answer your question on the forums.
     
  8. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    This file tries to connect out each and every 30 minutes. It seems that the only way to stop mxup.exe (auto-update) is to delete or rename this file from the /bin/ folder, but it will return back with each next update. Or we can use their portable version (available on same download page, see the OP).

    (see http://forum.maxthon.com/thread-2943-1-1.html)

    I could easily stop that with my firewall and/or my anti-exe. But for now I renamed the file and it seems to do it, without any complaint from maxthon. But there should really be an option to change this automatic updating behavior.

    edit: mxup.exe deleted - should be good enough until next release...
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    AFAIK there is no auto-update on Mx 4 anyway.
     
  10. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    What is weird is that this file wants net access even when Maxthon is closed ! :doubt:
     
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I doubt that it is a real security problem, even if it applies to Mx 4. Many apps can ping when they aren't actually opened.
     
  12. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    I think so. But I see it as an annoyance and I would like to have an option to deactivate this "feature".
     
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Maybe they'll make this if enough people ask them.
     
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I just tried making a post one Maxthon's forum, and it says I need a Security Q&A Code which it is not even giving me to enter.
     
  15. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Never mind. It's working now. It finally decided to ask me a question for the security code.
     
  16. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I posted the question here asking why Maxthon ask for outbound internet access about every 20 minutes even when not using Maxthon. Let's see what response I get. -http://forum.maxthon.com/thread-3864-1-1.html-
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, it will be interesting to see what they say. It could just be related to the Cloud functions though, even though I don't use them yet. Didn't Safari used to ping Apple regularly too?
     
  18. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    MxUp.exe is the Maxthon updater and during the installation, it is set up to check for updates at the interval you specify. To disable this, simply remove the scheduled task from Windows Task Scheduler. Maxthon's Updater runs independently of Maxthon; that's why it's set up as a scheduled task.
     
  19. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    To check this, I reinstalled Maxthon over the top of itself. There was no way of specifying any interval for auto-update during the installation. And there is now no task scheduled related to Maxthon or MxUp.exe.
     
  20. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Yes, it's true the installer or the program offers no way of changing this interval. However, I can see it in the scheduled tasks from Windows Task Scheduler (see the screenshot).
     

    Attached Files:

    • mxup.jpg
      mxup.jpg
      File size:
      224.3 KB
      Views:
      55
  21. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Interesting because for me there is no scheduled task

    But I'm confused now because I can see that it's this service that is doing the job :
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Maxthon3\Bin\mxup.exe" -RunScheduledUpdate C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe

    o_O

    edit
    oops my bad.
    There is one task for maxthon auto-updating. I was looking in the wrong tab. Sorry.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  22. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks! I found the entry in the task scheduler like you said. That's unheard of having an application like a web browser check for updates that often! I have to wonder what else it is doing other than checking for an update. Most antivirus don't even check for updates that often.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.