Manual Update, Attn: Javacool

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Heirloom, Jul 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heirloom

    Heirloom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Hey Jav,
    As you may recall, I am one of the folks having problems with 3.2 .exe and Kernel32 errors. Remember activating SB and enabling protection from the Safe Mode?....that worked. However, since the updates came out, I dl'd the 5 files and replaced them in the SB folder while in the Windows mode and rebooted to Safe Mode to perform the enabling. Well, I now get an error that the protection database is corrupt and need to update, which I can't from the Safe Mode. Also, the files that I replaced disappear in the process and the sbversion.txt file goes to 0 bytes. I am unable to disable protection to un/reinstall. Is there a way to manually disable protection so that an uninstall may be performed? I still have all the CLSID's in the Registry:
    HKLM/Microsoft/InternetExplorer/ActiveXCompatibiliity and a Value of:
    0x00000400 (1024) on each, enabled. Can I reinstall 3.2 over itself without any problems?
    Thanks for any help........
    Heirloom, old and limited knowledge
     
  2. Heirloom

    Heirloom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster/sbdatabase.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster/sbdatabase2.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster/sbinfo.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster/ckdatabase.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster/rsdatabase.dtb

    The above files are what I used to manually update my version 3.2 which made it inoperable in the Safe Mode, giving me a 'corrupt protection database' error.

    Just FYI, I was able to overwrite my 'boogered up' copy with a new install over it.....works good in Safe Mode.......still get the Kernel32 error IPF in the Windows mode and can't update, of course.

    Thanks,
    Heirloom
     
  3. Heirloom

    Heirloom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    After some scrutiny, I think the protection files that I downloaded may have been outdated and the reason for my "corrupt protection database" error. If manual updating is still possible by replacing the following files in the SB folder, could someone please post the updated files?
    sbdatabase.dtb
    sbdatabase2.dtb
    sbinfo.dtb
    ckdatabase.dtb
    rsdatabase.dtb

    If the new version 3.2 does not support manual updating by replacing these files, I need to know that as well. Last question.....does the latest download of 3.2 contain the updated protection files (3054 items) or would it need to be updated from the 3022 items?

    I am trying desperately to get my workaround to work!!

    Heirloom, old and still hammering at it
     
  4. Heirloom

    Heirloom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Hate it when I have to figure this stuff out on my own.......
    If SB ver 3.2 becomes corrupted (I corrupted mine myself), it is okay to overwrite with a fresh install of ver 3.2. Mine worked very well.

    If you are like me and can only run SB in the Safe Mode, get a friend to send you the latest of these 5 files and replace the ones in the SB folder:
    sbdatabase.dtb
    sbdatabase2.dtb
    sbinfo.dtb
    ckdatabase.dtb
    rsdatabase.dtb
    .....this can be done in Windows Explorer and then reboot to Safe Mode where you can enable protection.....reboot again to Windows mode and all is well. yay.

    Heirloom, old and clumsy, but, it works
     
  5. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    Well actually, you don't need a friend to send you the files, you can get them yourself simply by using your browser (yes, the manual update process is still supported in 3.2). See the direct download links in this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=12266

    You don't need to run SpywareBlaster to get these, just use your browser and right-click each of those file links and save them down to your system.
     
  6. Heirloom

    Heirloom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Thank you, however, that is where I obtained the files for my first attempt at manually updating. Apparently, the files on the link have not been updated. I dl'd the <sbdatabase.dtb> file from the link you provided and the file is 135Kb. Using this and the other four files aforementioned, is when I got the "Corrupted protection database" error. After using the <sbdatabase.dtb> file (267Kb) and the other four from my friend, all worked well.

    I did not check the file size on all of them, but, I am guessing the link has some older versions not applicable with version 3.2.

    I appreciate your response. I do know that my workaround does, in fact, work with the correct files. I have 3089 items enabled, now. Check the linked files, I may be wrong, but, I believe them to be incorrect.

    Heirloom, old and been wrong before
     
  7. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    I can't imagine why this doesn't work for you, and you can certainly have someone continue to send you the files if you like. However, those are actually the up to date files linked in that thread.

    You can't go by the file sizes because the files are compressed on the server. They get decompressed by SpywareBlaster when it opens them the first time. (Actually, four of the five files are compressed, one isn't.)

    For those interested, this is the way the manual update process is best done... All five of the files need to be saved, one at a time by right-clicking on each URL and doing a "Save Target As..." but before hitting the Save button to bring each file down, first change the "Save as type:" to "All files".

    With SpywareBlaster closed, move all five files into the SpywareBlaster folder overwriting the existing ones and then run SpywareBlaster. It should open, decompress and verify all files.
     
  8. Heirloom

    Heirloom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    Thanks Watermark,
    I did not realize the files were compressed, but, that makes sense. I replaced the files in the SB folder (tried it in Windows and Safe Mode) and as soon as I open the proggy in Safe Mode, I get an error that the protection database is corrupt.
    If I replace the files with those taken from a friend's computer, who just updated (files uncompressed), everything works just fine. Too weird for me!
    I am guessing it has something to do with the SB.exe file and may be related to why I get the Kernel32 error, IPF, in Windows mode and, yet, I can get the GUI to work in Safe Mode. I have dl'd the setup.exe from different locations and have installed it in Windows and Safe Mode, performed all the steps from the Aumha Kernel32 troubleshooting site, moved my swap file, defragged, cleaned the Reg, etc......just about everything but an exorcism.

    It's going to take someone a lot smarter than I to figure this out. I'll be happy to provide any info I can or try anything suggested to help resolve this.
    Thanks again for your input.

    Heirloom, old and just don't know
     
  9. therube

    therube Guest

    I'll ditto Heirloom's comments.

    The manual updates do not seem to be valid for the 3.2 version of SpywareBlaster.
    3.2 .dtb files are "text".
    These (presumably 3.1 .dtb files?) are "binary".
    When the files are replaced, they are tagged as corrupt & are deleted.

    If the files are compressed, how are they decompressed?

    Perhaps the manual update thread in no longer correct, or the file URL's are not the correct ones for 3.2?
     
  10. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    No, as I said the links and the files are correct. They have been confirmed and they work for most SpywareBlaster users. But obviously something else is wrong on some systems, and whatever that something is, it is preventing SpywareBlaster from using those files properly.
     
  11. wdlemke

    wdlemke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Any link to spywareblaster.net doesn't work for me. But if I try to look for the aformentioned files at www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster, I can find four of the five. But they are all old files (some from 2003), and they are all text files. Can these files be updated to be compatible with the 7/17/2004 latest difinition files listed on the site?
     
  12. therube

    therube Guest

    The URL's posted in #2 above are not valid.

    The link in #5 above links to the page with the manual update instructions.

    The link displayed on that page is the same as posted in #2 above,
    but the actual URL's are different.

    Here are the URL's linked that are linked to:

    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/sbdatabase.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/sbdatabase2.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/sbinfo.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/ckdatabase.dtb
    http://www.spywareblaster.net/spywareblaster31/rsdatabase.dtb

    Note that the actual URL of each file is in a directory /spywareblaster31/ rather then in /spywareblaster/.

    Also mentioned is that all the files are "compressed", except for sbinfo.tbd, which is a "text" file. All files are dated 7-7-2004 except for sbdatabase2.tbd, which is dated 7-15-2004.

    Alas, even knowing the above, manual updates did not work for me.
     
  13. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    hi therube....

    I decided to try this and see if I could dl and install the files from all the links..

    OK... From the direct link LWM gave and the direct links inside of that, they ALL worked for me.

    From the links you gave 'therube', each one worked for me again, I get the dl window.

    See pic, that was the result of just clicking on the #5 which you said linked to the manual update page. EACH time I tried any link [just simply clicking], it immediately gave me the dl window.

    I also tried right click [Firefox browser gives Save Link As....] and got the normal dl window of XP and I could not change it from a Text File in Save File As......... however, it still saved the file with the correct extension and it still worked.

    Something else must be going on if you are trying those links and not getting anywhere.

    Have you guys tried clearing ALL Cache/Cookies/etc. sometimes that helps with faulty dl's.

    TAS
     

    Attached Files:

    • 117.GIF
      117.GIF
      File size:
      11 KB
      Views:
      382
  14. therube

    therube Guest

    I don't have any problem downloading the files.
    And I don't believe they are corrupted, or are corrupting during the download.
    It's only when the program is trying to read them that things are not working.
    Listing below showing CRC values. If you were to run a CRC check on the files, I would suspect that you would come up with the same values. (Or you could use PKZIP to compress the files, then list the archive & it will show the CRC).
    Code:
    Name           OrigSize CompSize Ratio    Date      Time   CRC
    ============== ======== ======== ===== ========== ======== ========
     ckdatabase.dtb
                      19770    19770   0%  07-07-2004 21:36:20 D42654BA
     rsdatabase.dtb
                     154828   154828   0%  07-07-2004 21:36:26 88C56157
     sbdatabase.dtb
                     139212   139212   0%  07-07-2004 21:36:32 12127468
     sbdatabase2.dtb
                      36935    36935   0%  15-07-2004 19:22:10 69BE4518
     sbinfo.dtb       21743    21743   0%  07-07-2004 21:36:22 7BFABD62
    ============== ======== ======== ===== ========== ======== ========
    
     
  15. therube

    therube Guest

    Disabled all protections.
    Uninstalled 3.2.
    Reinstalled 3.2. (Old & new installations compared exactly).

    Did not open SpywareBlaster yet.

    Copied new .TBDs into SB directory.
    Start SB. Errors returned. TBDs deleted.

    Exit SB. Copy original install set of TBDs back into SB directory.
    Start SB. Works. Enable all protections.

    Just a standard PC with Win98.
    Don't know what else to say?
     
  16. therube

    therube Guest

    Woops. All mention of TBD above, should be DTB!


    It's been said that the .DTBs are compressed.
    Can they be manually decompressed?
    What compression method is being used (HE3?).
     
  17. firehawk

    firehawk Guest

    Just worked fine for me, and I had been having problems for months. Thanks to LowWaterMark for the help!

    Mike
     
  18. CharlieX

    CharlieX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Check for updates option does not work for me in Spywareblaster V3.2, so I've written simple updater proggy myself.
    But there is one thing I would like to know. How can I determine if the files on your server are newer that the files I currently have installed. Is there some way to check this?
    Anybody knows anything about this?
     
  19. Heirloom

    Heirloom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    If it is of any value to anyone:
    Manually updating will work just fine, if you get the files in an uncompressed format, i.e. have a friend update and send you the 5 files and replace them in the SB folder. I have to access the GUI from the Safe Mode to enable protection, but, all else works fine. Attempting to access the GUI from Windows mode results in the Kernel32 error, IPF.

    BTW, I had a friend with Me send me ALL of the files in the SB folder and I replaced everything in hopes that it would resolve the problem with the Kernel32 errors, but, nay......same thing happens. Back to the drawing board.

    Heirloom, old and been away
     
  20. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Just to update everyone: I'm working on a fix for the kernel32 error, as well as the sporadic updating errors a few people seem to be having.

    Please bear with me - thanks! :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  21. Heirloom

    Heirloom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Posts:
    34
    We all know you are working hard on the resolution and I am sure that everyone, like me, appreciates what you are doing. I do have one question:

    Is there anyplace to download the 5 files needed for updating in an uncompressed format or a way to uncompress without using the SB program?

    Heirloom, old and need some breakfast
     
  22. thefly

    thefly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Yes Javacool, Thanks very much for all your hard work. Much appreciated. Just thought I'd add that the above update files are compatible with Ver3.1 as well. I can't run Version 3.2 on one of my Win98SE machines even in Safe Mode. I re-installed Ver3.1 and copied the downloaded files above and am full up to date. I only have IE on this PC so that is fine. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.