Management Console and WIN NT

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hopefulluser, Aug 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hopefulluser

    hopefulluser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hallo!!
    We are evaluating Acronis in our company at the minute and we have come
    upon a problem which I hope one of you may be able to help us with.

    Using the Management Console we have installed the Agent onto
    Windows XP clients and Windows 2000 clients and have been able to
    draw images over our network to our backup server with no problem
    at all.........must admit very neat!!!

    Now to our problem.........we also have Windows NT clients and everything
    works fine until one tries to start to write an image to our backup
    server.........here it says that I dont have enough rights. I can see
    the folders on the backup server but cant write to them or even
    enter the folders themselves. I have tried changing the rights on the server
    to everyone etc but that didnt help....I suppose this is a specific NT problem
    but hope one of you could point me in the right direction.

    Thanks in advance to anyone who can find the time to help me out.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hopefulluser,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Remote Workstation Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that it is a known issue and our Development Team is now working on it. However, the exact time frame for the fix is not decided yet, as this fix requires a significant amount of work because of some Windows NT peculiarities.

    Please try to schedule a task for the remote image creation using Acronis Management Console. Everything should work fine in this case.

    Please accept our apologies for the current inconvenience.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  3. hopefulluser

    hopefulluser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Alexey,

    Thanks for the prompt reply. I will try that but hope your team is able
    to fix the bug asp as we intend to incorporate True Image as our
    standard backup solution.
     
  4. hopefulluser

    hopefulluser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Alexey.

    You write;

    Please try to schedule a task for the remote image creation using Acronis Management Console. Everything should work fine in this case.


    Even when one uses the schedule function one has to give
    the path to where one wants to save the image......or is there
    a trick I dont know.

    thx
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hopefulluser,

    Yes, you need to point the path to where you want to save your images when you are creating a scheduled task.

    Advising you to schedule a task for the image creation, I meant that you will be able to create an image in this way, rather then launching the image creation manually.

    However, the problem needs to be fixed and our Developers are already working on it.

    If you want us to remind you when the problem will be fixed then please send a letter describing the issue to support@acronis.com. Please do not forget to provide a link to this thread in your letter.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.