Malwarebytes3 Free and MBAM Anti Exploit Free

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by TerryWood, Jul 14, 2017.

  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Hi All

    Can the new Malwarebytes3 Free coexist with the MBAM Anti Exploit Beta?

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  2. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    The new Malwarebytes 3.x includes "Exploit Protection" so there is no need. It also includes "Web protection", "Malware Protection" and Ransomware Protection. That's the significant difference between the old MBAM 2.x and the new Malwarebytes 3.x. The new version bundles all those features into one.
     
  3. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    724
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,963
    Yes.

    fyi:
    I have the paid MBAE real-time and paid MB3 on demand (with realtime protection for: Web/Exploit/Malware/Ransomeware=off).
     

    Attached Files:

  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,901
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    I had MBAM3 free & MBAE free. MBAM3 free wouldn't work had to rollback to MBAM2 free.
     
  6. ky331

    ky331 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    1) MBAE Free remains available as a "perpetual beta" product.
    2) I *believe* that every time MBAM 3 updates to a new program version, it will DELETE any existing separate MBAE version... after which, if you're using only the FREE version of MBAM 3, you'll then be able to reinstall a copy of MBAE.
     
  7. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    My mistake. Yes, it will work together.
    They had a lot of issues when they first pushed MB3 out (too big a hurry before the holidays, IMO). But they seem to [finally] be resolved now. I recommend you give it another try.
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,901
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    How the **** do I stop MBAM3 free from leaving the icon in the taskbar? Very PUSHY of MB.
     
  9. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Taskbar? Hmmm, it is not on mine. Did you unpin it?

    It appears in the System Tray area by default, but that is easy to disable in the Settings menu.
     
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,901
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    W7P64 here. Malwarebytes Tray Application set customize notification icons was set to Hide icon and notifications yesterday. Just checked & it is now set to show icon and notifications. Disconcerting.

    Edit: After resetting set customize notification icons to Hide icon and notifications just now. Trying to Update MBAM produces ERROR: Network Error Unable to connect to Update Server. Please check your internet connection. I did my connection works but not for MBAM.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017
  11. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    That's a generic network error. Probably a problem on their end. Try again later.
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,684
    Bill you still running 3.0 along with WD on your setup?
     
  13. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    On this system and my notebook, yes. On my other systems, I run WD and the free MB3.x.
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,684
    Gotcha. I may try it again. Hoping the performance issues and slow web browsing have improved. Thanks!
     
  15. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    When 3.x first came out before the holidays, I, like many, had lots of problems where various features were reported to be off and we were no longer protected. They claimed the protection services were still running and we were protected but it did not instill confidence, so I rolled back to MBAM 2.x. But now they seem to have the problems sorted out.

    That said, I never experienced performance or slow web browsing problems.

    If using the Premium (real time) version of Malwarebytes, in order to prevent Windows Defender from disabling itself, go to the Malwarebytes control panel > Settings. Then scroll down to Windows Action Center and tick the radio button for "Never register Malwarebytes in the Windows Action Center". This lets MB3.0 and WD to run together in real time. Unlike other anti-malware solutions and contrary to the commonly given advice to never run two anti-malware solutions at the same time (the two dogs guarding the same bone scenario), MB3.x and WD play great together without causing conflicts or hogging system resources.
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,684
    Good to know! May give it a spin. Thanks for the tip regarding the Malwarebytes settings.
     
  17. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,901
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Just tried again. Same.

    Trying to Update MBAM produces ERROR: Network Error Unable to connect to Update Server. Please check your internet connection. I did my connection works but not for MBAM.
     
  18. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I just connected just fine so your problem suggests a firewall problem on your end. And just for the record, to avoid confusion, the old 2.0 is Malwarebytes Anti-malware or MBAM. The new 3.0 is now called just Malwarebytes or MB3.x.
    Sure. Note the new MB3.x is marketed as a full solution - the only one you need. MBAM2.0 was marketed as a supplemental scanner. But since it works so well along side WD, many use it in conjunction with WD.
     
  19. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,684
    I tried it earlier today. It's a bit better on my machine but still have performance issues. I restored back to the image I took prior to installation. Still rocking WD at the moment though.
     
  20. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    IMO, that's all you really need. Truthfully, the only reason I have the Premium version of Malwarebytes on my systems is because I bought lifetime MBAM licenses many years ago, and those transfer to the new MB3.x. Otherwise, I would just be using the free version for supplemental/verification checks.
     
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,684
    So you still feel WD is enough? I have a lifetime license for it as well but until some more bugs are worked out I won't use it.
     
  22. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,803
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Of course it is! Why on Earth would Microsoft produce a product designed to protect us from malware that failed to protect us from malware? All that would do would bring relentless grief and criticism upon them by the biased Microsoft bashers and headline seeking wannabe journalist in the IT press.

    If you don't keep Windows updated, if you click on every link, download, popup, and attachment you see, if you regularly visit illegal pornography or gambling sites, if you participate in illegal filesharing via torrents and P2P sites, if you let careless users use your computer, Windows Defender may not be good enough. But then I don't know of any anti-malware solution that will protect you under those circumstances.

    Microsoft is the ONLY company that makes an antimalware solution for consumers that really has a true interest in keeping Windows secure!!! Why? Because they will get blamed regardless!! And Microsoft is the ONLY company that truly benefits if malware went away. Microsoft has zero financial incentive for malware to succeed.

    All the other companies need malware to remain a threat so consumers will "buy" their products or click on ads in their products. If malware went away, Norton, McAfee, AVG, AVIRA, BitDefender, Malwarebytes, Kaspersky, et al would all go bankrupt! I am not saying those companies are not sincere, but then again, their survival depends on malware remaining a threat.

    Do not base concerns on WD not scoring well in laboratory comparison tests. Because Microsoft is not trying to compete for your security solution dollars, they don't code WD to score well in those "synthetic" tests. Instead, they code WD to protect us from the "real-world" scenarios we face each day.

    The 3rd party solution makers, however, need fodder to make them look good. So they code their products to score well on those tests - even though they are not scenarios users will encounter in the real world. In other words, for 3rd party makers, it is all about marketing, if for no other reason than to try to make them look better.

    It should be noted, in spite of all the bad publicity received from "synthetic" laboratory comparison testings, WD has been protecting users just fine for years. It is the default solution in all W8/W10 systems, after all and millions and millions of users stick with the defaults (because they work). If those user's systems were being infected, you know the IT press would be all over that with HUGE sensationalized headlines.

    I like to say you don't need an Abrams Tank to drive around safely. You just need a properly maintained, modern, but "basic" car, and most importantly you MUST drive defensively. That's why Windows Defender is just fine for the vast majority of users. That does not mean the alternatives are bad, just that they don't ensure a safer computing experience.

    That said, I also feel we should not put all our eggs in one basket. For that reason, I feel regardless our anti-malware solution of choice, we should have a secondary scanner just to make sure we as users (and always weakest link in security) or our primary security solution did not let something slip by. And I use and recommend Malwarebytes for that. And so far, for all my systems since 2009 when I switched to MSE/WD, MBAM/MB3.x has found nothing but a couple [wanted] PUPs.
     
  23. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,684
    Hi Bill,

    Thanks for the detailed explanation. I understand what you are saying. I have used it off and on but not on a consistent basis. I have a feeling after the Fall Creators update that it may be my full time av. Time will tell.

    Cheers!
     
  24. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
  25. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,684
Loading...