Malwarebytes Shuriken to go Active

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by LODBROK, May 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    There's posting in the Malwarebytes forum that Shuriken heuristics will go active in the refs.def file for Database 4150 and thereon. As of right now it's 4143. So, real soon!
     
  2. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    I love that name: "Shuriken"!!

    It sounds all Martial Artsy!!

    Hopefully it will be a "star"


    rat
     
  3. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    I have a Scythe(=brand) Shuriken(=model) ( cpu cooler ) in one of my PCs. LOL
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    what the heck is Shuriken heuristics?
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Its a new version of their heuristics. They used it during the last bunch of beta testing. They told us to run a scan w/o and then w/ to see the difference. I never saw any change in detection.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks kj;)
     
  7. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I tested this once against old samples and it didn't detect even one:ouch:

    Hope to be better as it has been a while since it was in BETA:)
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    di you tested againts new samples?
     
  9. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Old means about a month or two:)
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i know:D but i ask you if you also tested with new malware:)
     
  11. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Sounds promising.
     
  12. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai

    Nah I didn't test against zero days:) It is tedious to find some good zero day threats and I don't try to download much from MDL I visit many compromised sites and download many cracks and keygens and then watch their behavior:)
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    cool:) ,also limewire:D
     
  14. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
  15. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    4150 is here but Shuriken isn't.
     
  16. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I have 4151 and it has Shuriken. You have to look under scanner options.
     
  17. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    yes it's tucked away in the settings menu.;)
     

    Attached Files:

  18. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Yeah it is included, just updated mine:)
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Im sure i have seen that option there since 1.46 came out?
    Current pc still has update version 4150.
     
  20. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    That button has been there for a while, if I remember correctly it does not do anything till the new .ref file goes active.
     
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Nice that Malwarebytes' will include new technologies.
    Will it be available in the free version?
     
  22. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Yeah its included in FREE version:)
     
  23. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    That's correct. It's been an advertised feature since 1.45 and probably why that user posted up an inquiry as to its progress/release on the Malwarebytes forum.

    Apparently some forum poser over there thought he was an official spokesman for the company and pulled the 4150 number out of his... well, you know where.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    does the Shuriken detect viruses?
     
  25. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Isn't it an heuristic module?
    If it is, then i guess it should detect viruses :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.