malwarebytes, i read lot bout it whys it so good

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by winterlord, Apr 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. winterlord

winterlord Registered Member

iv always heard about mbam but why is it so good? im under the impression you run it with your regular antivirus program and firewall.

2. AVusah

AVusah Registered Member

cuz it focuzez on malware dat antivirus don't catch n stuff, so its good compliment for dem.

3. The Red Moon

The Red Moon Registered Member

Malwarebytes receives a lot of contributions from malware hunters and forum members.
    Dedicated malware hunters submit hundreds of samples as is seen on their forum.
    Every windows user should have the free version installed at least and i see no viable reason not to do so.

4. er34

er34 Guest

I would only stick to the free version. I have some experience with the Pro version and it causes more trouble than benefit, in my opinion.

Free version is very good when it comes to infected machine and it must be cleaned (not reformatter/reinstalled/reinmaged). It finds leftovers and it sensitive to such things.

For daily usage, the Pro version might feel heavy on some computers (lots of memory and CPU usages at times).
    Additionally, it can cause some undesired false positive on certain files (which scares some users). The scanner is sensitive. I know many examples and even this one: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=345442
    Its IP blocker blocks lots of traffic from P2P software such as torrents or Skype [just start uTorrent and Skype and watch the show of pop-ups] , or from some legitimate sites (this might be true blocks but it does not really protect the machines, and is also not desirable because it scares users and makes them ask too much).