Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Updates

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by puff-m-d, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,548
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It installed in the end.

    First thoughts:
    • As mentioned already, the warning about not being fully protected is a little annoying.
    • More concerning - After a Restart VS does not start and now I cannot Restart or Shut Down my machine.
    This version is not compatible with my machine. Hopefully the next version will be better suited.

    After a hard shut down and reboot my machine locked up and became useless, so I'm restoring from my backup.

    Oh, also:

    • I noticed the scan schedule date was in US format. It would be great if we could also see it in AU / NZ / UK format of DD/MM/YYYY. Thanks.
     
  2. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,163
    I have installed 3.0.2.1175 and that version itself reports that an update is available. It downloads an installer that fails to install. So far I have been unable to find the downloaded installer (that I would like to try manually in safe mode).
     
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,092
    Location:
    Mexico
    Ah, not my case. Even with "Application Updates" default settings, I've never experienced such reports or installers downloads.
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,772
    Location:
    UK
    One of my pet hates is software apps that do not respect my system settings.

    My machine...my rules.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Remember this is the 1st beta.
     
  6. rs11

    rs11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    52
    It takes over 4 mins. to start on my machine, then popup states that real time protection is off and if I want to turn it on.
    I click yes then it starts
     
  7. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,092
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yup, it seems to be a generalized issue. In my PC takes 90 sec. for systray app to show up then the pop up. But I'm pretty sure they'll fix it next beta.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hmm I don't see that delay.
     
  9. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    sweden

    Had that problem too so i uninstalled it due to the uncertainty that brings.
     
  10. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    250
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    If I turn on the layers of protection I have slow boot and my computer performance suffers a lot... And I also get the pop uo saying that layers of protection are turned off... The only way to stop it was stopping Malwarebytes from starting with Windows and turning off all layers.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2016
  11. PeZzy

    PeZzy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    56
    I did a clean install and re-entered my ID and Key numbers. No problems other than having to disable Anti-Heap Spraying Enforcement for browsers in order to get Firefox to run. I have Scan For Rootkits enabled. There was an updating downloading problem yesterday, but that resolved on its own today.

    EIS 12.0.1.6859
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.6.0 Build 573
    MalwareBytes 3.0.2.1175
    Windows 10 x64 Version 1607 (OS Build 14393.447)
     
  12. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    UK
    I think it would be good to stop hyping up tracking and adware.

    I dont think its the job of a anti malware solution to alert for minor things such as tracking cookies.

    On v2 I have a bug where if I right click to scan a file in explorer, it only works if the malwarebytes gui is already running.
     
  13. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,192
    MBAM has never detected tracking cookies.
     
  14. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.

    Could you be a salesman?
     
  15. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    Malwarebytes 3.0 Beta 2 (3.0.3.1245) has been released.
    Malwarebytes 3.0 Public Beta Number 2 (link includes download link)
    Announcement:
    Changelog:
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,548
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Awesome! Thanks as always, Kent. :thumb:
     
  17. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for posting Kent. Let us know how the new beta works out. The team fixed a ton of bugs since Beta1.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,548
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    pbust, should I uninstall MBAM 2.x before installing MBAM 3.x beta 2?
     
  19. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,092
    Location:
    Mexico
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,548
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  21. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    594
    Location:
    Canada
    Why not add Bitdefender or Avira engine so no need for extra scanner...?
     
  22. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    The uninstallation note refers to MB3 Beta1. No need to uninstall MBAM2 to install MB3 Beta2.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,548
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thank you. :)
     
  24. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    We want to add innovative technologies to deal with modern malware tactics. We have some new techs in store for 3.1, 3.2, etc. We don't want to go backwards to outdated technology that's proven not to be able to solve the problem.
     
  25. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,785
    This program still massively slows my PC. There's like s 2-4 second lag on every program I try to open.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.