Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Updates

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by puff-m-d, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    "On my fast machine, with nothing else on my startup, and a tweaked system, Malwarebytes makes my system feel old."

    with 2.0 they recommended turning off self protection to allow your computer to start up faster.

    i also have my BSOD issue listed over at the malwarebytes forum but so far with holidays going on there has not been much help. every answer i get takes a full day.
     
  2. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,011
    Location:
    Canada
    Threat Scan with Scan for Rootkits off- 394,000 items in 36 seconds, however CPU usage jumped up to 96% a couple of times. I have 12 gigs or ram. However, during normal use of computer there doesn't seem to be any slowdowns and normal CPU usage is always almost under 10%. So MBAM does need the juice for scanning.
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Can you add an option to mbam to scan files on access only in order to make it lighter?
     
  4. Amanda

    Amanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Brasil
    Just wanted to confirm: it's possible to activate v3 with the life-time licenses from v1. I love you, Malwarebytes :-*
     
  5. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Yes...correct!
     
  6. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    Eh, fwiw, I'm running KIS 2017, and also currently running hmp.a & ZAM, & voodooshield... overkill perhaps but no noticeable slowdown and they play ok with each other here. I have a few items disabled in hmp.a.
     
  7. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,630
    Thanks for your post, @simmersK00L . Now that MBAM and all the other real-time stuff is gone, my computer is a lot faster. I still think that one real-time scanner (KIS 2017) is all I need to stay protected. I also backup my stuff regularly, so there is no need here for an overkill security config, which may sooner or later lead to compatibility issues.
     
  8. Amanda

    Amanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Brasil
    May I ask why?
     
  9. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,630
    (1) MB3 didn't run smoothly on my machine.
    (2) I'm currently using KIS 2017. I don't think I need yet another real-time anti-malware app which may sooner or later lead to compatibility issues. Now that I got rid of all other real-time scanners, my not-so-new computer is a lot faster. I only use two on-demand scanners for a "second opinion". What's more, I regularly backup my files and folders (daily). So in the unlikely event of an infection, I can easily restore my stuff.
     
  10. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,300
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Isn't that MBAM in free mode?
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    free mode is on demand, I'm talking about on real time and on access only
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Isn't that the way it works? I have MBAM 3 set to run, and does nothing until a invoke a program. Then if it finds malware in the file it alerts on it and quarantines it. What more are you asking for
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    Almost all AV have ways to intercept malware before besides when it is executed/on access, like just after downloading in a browser, while being copied from one place to another etc. I just want MBAM to scan file just before these are executed.
     
  14. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    You mean an "on-access scanning"? So these files are not only scanned at execution
    Like this: Scan on: "[X] File open / [X] File creation / [X] File execution"
     
  15. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,300
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    He seems to want on execution only.
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Got it. EIS has settings that can control that scanning action. I am not sure I see a big difference in their 3 settings. You can go over to the MBAM forum and request it, but my hunch is it would get a very low priority. Give it a shot.
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    Something like this:
    https://help.comodo.com/topic-72-1-284-3011-.html
    This:
    http://www6.pcmag.com/media/images/431568-on-access-options.jpg
    and this:
    https://help.it.ox.ac.uk/sites/ithelp/files/images/viruses_win_v10-prefs-onaccess-scanning.png


    Soon or later they will read this, or they should since the thread is almost as active o more than their entire MBAM forum.
     
  18. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    What would MBAE find and remove that would make SSD drives un-bootable?

    I would like to try the MBAE 3 but in the past I have had MBAE screw two OS installations where after a scan the SSD drive will no longer boot and I have to reformat and reinstall the OS.
     
  19. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    778
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    So what is the latest on MBAM 3? The troops are getting restless!
     
  20. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    "So what is the latest on MBAM 3? The troops are getting restless!"

    it sucks!!!!!!!!
     
  21. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Can you post or PM me the torrent/magnet link that makes it crash? Which torrent program are you using?
     
  22. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
  23. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    This is exactly what MBAM does. On-execution scanning means that the file will get intercepted and scanned by Malwarebytes before it is allowed to run.
     
  24. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    We're working on a ComponentUpdate which we'll release in a couple of weeks, followed a couple of days later by a full upgrade.
     
  25. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Hopefully that will take care of a lot of issues.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.