Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Updates

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by puff-m-d, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,192
    Thanks for the reply. I think it would be better if MBAM allowed you to select or deselect a threat detected as a whole. I think this is a better option to having to manually add exclusions.
     
  2. Claire Louise Reed

    Claire Louise Reed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Causes my Windows 10 Anniversay computer to freeze solid, have to uninstall it
     
  3. bidd

    bidd Guest

    Disabling Anti-Exploit makes no difference here Marcin, I'd gone through and tried all those scenarios and the only thing that works is to not have MBAM start up with windows.

    I think I may have just found the cause, if I disable the self protection module everything is back to normal...nice and snappy:)
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  5. ElmarBillerbeck

    ElmarBillerbeck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I have here a lifetime license for MBAM from 2012. Everything works fine until yesterday installed MBAM 3 BETA and it could not be registered. Message appears that two many registrations of that key where registered on the servers and i must contact the support? Could anybody confirm that lifetime licenses for MBAM have a quota?

    Many thanks and regards
     
  6. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    798
    I got the same issue, wrote to support & the activation issue solved the next day.

    Excellent customer support. :)

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/malwarebytes-3-0-beta.389946/#post-2631243
     
  7. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

  8. PeZzy

    PeZzy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    56
    Yesterday, I started to have problems with the exploit protection not turning on. Maybe it suddenly became incompatible with EIS? It just says "starting" when I try to turn it on.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,548
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I had the same with Ransomware Protection. Try a restart.
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,548
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @RubbeR DuckY and @ZeroVulnLabs ,

    I've just ran mbam-clean on mbam 2.0 before installing mbam 3.x beta 2 and the installation went much smoother. I suspect there is an issue upgrading from an earlier version of mbam.

    I hope that helps.
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,548
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Well for some stupid reason mbam schedule thinks it is May, 1904. WTF? I'll beta test but I will not alpha test!

    Bye bye mbam beta. (Alpha) Please let me know when you've made it to this century
     
  12. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
    No such issue here
    2016-11-26 08_36_20-Malwarebytes Premium 3.0.3.png
     
  13. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,163
    Had to uninstall MBAM 3 because it is blocking my system (re-installed MBAM 2 which is running fine).

    Somehow MBAM generates a UAC dialog at startup (why?) that is blocked by other software on my PC and does not even appear (until I disable MBAM and other security software)
     
  14. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    228
    Was this an upgrade from a 2.x version?

    Edit: Stupid question. Would you be available to debug in realtime by any chance?
     
  15. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    228
    Did you happen to take a screenshot? Would really appreciate that and a service log.
     
  16. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    228
    Since this is a more technical community, I don't mind posting this here.

    If you run into any lock up or sluggishness issues, could you produce a process dump of mbamservice and send it to me?

    Open Task Manager -> Click the Details tab -> Right click mbamservice.exe -> Create dump file

    Thanks!
     
  17. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,163
    To be honest I rather don't give others access to my PC.

    If I find time to try MBAM 3 again, I will try to create a dump, but even the task manager was very hard to open when my system was locked.
     
  18. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    228
    Didn't mean access directly, just chat or something similar. Regardless, if you find time to create a dump (have task manager open prior to running MB3) I would really appreciate it.
     
  19. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,163
    Ah, I thought you meant something like TeamViewer.

    I probably won't be able to do any tests until the second half of next week.
     
  20. PeZzy

    PeZzy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    56
    When I booted up my computer this morning, Malwarebytes didn't automatically start. When I ran it, it asked for my license. Also, it use to say version 3.0.2 and now it says 3.0.0.
     
  21. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    228
    Can you send me a service log and a screenshot of the About tab?
     
  22. PeZzy

    PeZzy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    56
    It eventually asked to update and it downloaded and installed 3.0.2. I am back to having an on-going problem of exploit protection not starting automatically. After I manually turn it on, the systray icon continues to show that exploit protection is off, but the UI window says it is on.
     
  23. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello PeZzy,

    Most of the issues that you are experiencing in Malwarebytes version 3.0.2 can be fixed by updating to Malwarebytes version 3.0.3.
    Please note that Malwarebytes version 3.0.2 will not update itself to Malwarebytes version 3.0.3 due to issues with Malwarebytes version 3.0.2.
    You must first uninstall Malwarebytes version 3.0.2 then reboot before installing Malwarebytes version 3.0.3.
    See the following post for more information.
    From my experience and the reading of the threads and posts over on the Malwarebytes Forums, I would proceed as follows:
    • Open the Malwarebytes GUI (by right clicking the tray icon then "Open Malwarebytes").
    • Make sure that you have exited any programs that are protected by the Anti-Exploit (MBAE) feature.
    • Be sure to get your license ID and/or Key from the "My Account" screen if you do not have it handy.
    • Deactivate your license while you are on the "My Account" screen.
    • Exit the Malwarebytes GUI (by clicking the "X" in top right corner).
    • Shut down Malwarebytes completely (by right clicking the tray icon then "Quit Malwarebytes").
    • Proceed to uninstall Malwarebytes version 3.0.2 normally.
    • Reboot your system.
    • Install Malwarebytes version 3.0.3. If you need the download, you may obtain it by following the link in the above quote.
    HTH...
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2016
  24. PeZzy

    PeZzy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    56
    Thanks for the info. When I tried to install 3.0.3, it couldn't overwrite an existing mbae64.sys file, dated November 11. That may have been my problem. I removed it and installed 3.0.3 and everything looks good so far.
     
  25. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello PeZzy,

    You are most welcome :thumb: !
    Just glad if my post helped in some way ;) ...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.