Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Updates (Formerly Malwarebytes 3.0 Beta)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by puff-m-d, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,939
    Malwarebytes 4.0 Released With New UI and Scanning Engine
    November 4, 2019
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...-40-released-with-new-ui-and-scanning-engine/
     
  2. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,939
    Malwarebytes v4.0 Offline Installer (147 MB):
     
  3. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,140
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Malwarebytes for Mac Version 4.0 looking good in Dark Mode on a Mac. :thumb:

    Screen Shot 2019-11-04 at 4.22.07 PM.png
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,173
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks @mood . I did see that.

    I found I could upgrade through MB 3.x by checking for Component Updates too.
     
  5. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    250
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    That dark mode does indeed look very sharp. :)
     
  6. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    US
    Finally got rid of that robot! Otherwise, no problems.

    Robert
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,173
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yeah, that was one of the first things I noticed too. I like that!
    +1. A dark mode for Windows would be cool.
     
  8. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,439
    Location:
    USA
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/top...0-for-windows/?do=findComment&comment=1342872
     
  10. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    831
    looks great , i'll give it a go
     
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,683
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    'With this release, Malwarebytes considers itself an antivirus replacement and will now register itself with the Windows Security settings as the primary antivirus solution on the computer. This makes it easy to manage from Windows and will allow Windows 10 to alert if you if the real-time protection feature is disabled.'

    I have MWB (Lifetime) installed, but all protections turned off, as I run on demand scans only.

    And Dashboard>Settings>Windows Action Center set to 'Never register Malwarebytes in the Windows Action Center'. I run Emsisoft Ant-Malware as my primary security soft.

    With the above statement do these Windows Action Center settings still exist? i.e. Will my deired settings be respected, else this will be a problem for me i.e. I would have to uninstall, rather than upgrade!?

    Can someone with v4 confirm?
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2019
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
    If it's for on demand only, why to start and run for nothing?

    I have MBAM Premium (Lifetime) installed, set not to start with Windows, as I run MBAM for on demand scans only.
     
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,683
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    True, I have edited my post, it is in fact not set to start with Windows.

    But my question remains ... due to the fact that MWB is installed?
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,360
    For some reason, the files and folders being scanned are not longer displayed. I don't know why they chose to remove that information.
    As I expected, the scroll bar issue remains and you still can't individually select entire threats. While I am disappointed by this, I rarely use Malwarebytes these days. I don't even have it installed on my main computer, as I don't see the point, in my case. I'm not saying that others should do the same.
    You can still get it to not be registered in the Security Center.
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,683
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thanks Roger :thumb:.
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,960
    Malwarebytes 4.0 for Windows launches
    https://www.ghacks.net/2019/11/05/malwarebytes-4-0-for-windows-launches/
     
  17. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,021
    thank you for the info and full setup
     
  18. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    816
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Hello @Brummelchen

    It appears as if you may rest your concerns for a MB4 off-line installer. The first public view of the improved MB4 off-line installer has been mentioned in the following:

    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/top...ot-installing/?do=findComment&comment=1343344

    Perhaps official documentation will soon follow. Yes - the above Box download is notably larger than MB3 was. Stay tuned...

    HTH
     
  19. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    Haven't you by chance thought, that there is a new version now, so might be should open a new theme?
    3 beta is somehow a weird title right now.
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,173
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I just received Component Package Version 1.0.718.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,173
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/top...0718-for-mwb4/?do=findComment&comment=1343496
     
  22. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    It appears like MBAM 4.0 is not properly registering with Windows Security Center. Windows Defender continues to run and I have restarted several times. Any suggestions?


    2019.11.06_19h34m57s_001_.png
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,173
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Maybe a clean install?
     
  24. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,260
    Location:
    Outer space
    After updating my Free MBAM to 4.x, it finally asked if I wanted to activate the premium trial instead of just activating without asking :thumb:
    Anyway, everything seems to be working fine after the update.
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,165
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, I will wait for the first anti-malware tests, because MB v3 always came in at last place, so I believe it when I see it.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.