Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Updates (Formerly Malwarebytes 3.0 Beta)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by puff-m-d, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,354
    Thanks for posting. I just installed in one of my computer. I was very surprised that it kept my settings for v3, where I have all realtime protection disabled and also have it configured not to run at Windows startup. Usually when an updated version of v3 is installed, realtime protection is enabled.

    While the new UI looks very nice, there are issues which they still haven't fixed. When you click on the scroll bar, it moves to where the mouse pointer is, rather than the usual Windows behaviour of paging up or down. This is an issue I've reported twice to Malwarebytes and they said they would fix, when I first reported it, when the beta of v3 was released. The second issue, is that there still is no way to select every file or registry key belonging to a detected application, other than manually clicking on every single related file and registry key. When I asked Malwarebytes about this, quite some time ago, they said that they planned to implement it as some point.
     
  2. osmandemi

    osmandemi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    58
    any screenshot ?
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,354
    MBAM 2.png

    MBAM 3.png

    MBAM 4.png

    MBAM.png
     
  4. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    Canada
    GUI is still a work in progress, updated over top of v3 and kept all my settings and even kept my detection's from previous version, gui is a massive improvement imo.
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,156
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The cartoon robot looks immature for a so called respectable security product in my view. Who is their target audience I have to wonder?

    Thanks @roger_m for the review and screenshots.
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,953
    My thoughts exactly.
     
  7. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,675
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    +1
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,953
  9. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    US
    +1

    Thanks for the screenshots, roger_m

    Robert
     
  10. james246

    james246 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Are there any obvious security or resource usage improvements over version 3 or is it just a GUI change
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,953
  12. james246

    james246 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    120
  13. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,148
    Like others members, I find the GUI somewhat immature, Malwarebytes marketing team thought that a crossover between Iron Man and Captain American in their mascot would add a nice touch to the interface, but IMO it is far from being professional and good looking, it doesnt mix well with an antimalware solution.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,156
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  15. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I'd think from all the telemetry, the target audience is male gaming-- teens to mid thirtiies, which, frankly, isn't quite in line with the current themes a la Steam and Epic but anyway. It's kind of amusing, actually but I wouldn't want this on the AdwCleaner UI, not even a little pointy head peeking around the corner. I agree, the new UI otherwise does look really clean and slimmed down. Hopefully, all the buttons toggle on/off correctly and stay there.
     
  16. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    US
  17. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,140
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Like I posted on the Malwarebytes Forum, "Kudo's to the designers that work hard on the new GUI. Some like it and some don't, can't satisfy everyone. To me it's what's under the hood that counts". :)
     
  18. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    US
    I agree 100%.:thumb:

    But, IMO, MB is supposed to be a serious Security Oriented company and thus should conduct themselves as such. If I was in charge of the design of the GUI, I wouldn't even consider putting a robot or anything else cartoonish in it; would not convey MY Corporate Philosophy!

    'Simple elegance.'

    Again, Just my Opinion,
    Robert

    P.S. And, they still have not, from what I can see, added a way to clear/reset History. I will have to do it manually, again.:(
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,156
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Each to there own PTD. Obviously I'm in the "I don't" group.
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,354
  21. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    Canada
    Not a big fan of the robot, but the new gui is impressive, a huge upgrade, so I can live with Mr. Roboto, not going to spend 1 second of my time fussing about it.
     
  22. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    Canada
    And a fyi for anyone who is interested, a quick scan took 7 seconds. Also..

    Annotation 2019-08-24 214906.jpg

    New Edge beta and Chrome uses more than this. Others may disagree but I don't think its a "heavy" user of resources, your mileage may vary.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,354
    A quick scan took 4 minutes, 35 seconds. Two minutes of that, was spent checking for updates.

    Scan times would be much quicker on my main computer, as it has very little installed on it. However, I doubt I would ever install Malwarebytes on it. An antivirus and Zemana is enough for me. I even think having Zemana installed is overkill.
     
  24. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    7 sec?! :eek: Mine took 28 seconds and this is a big Johnny. Anyway, I want to report a false positive but when I went to download the fp tracker from the Malwarebytes site, OSArmor block its installation, citing the PowerShell execution bypass rule. So, I'm going to respect that and post the fp here. It's the Bandicam installer--scanned it with Jotti just now to be beyond-sure.
    malbytes fp.png
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,557
    Post it in the MB forum. Posting it here is a waste of typing. They won't be looking here
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.