Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Updates (Formerly Malwarebytes 3.0 Beta)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by puff-m-d, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    US
    Promised I would. Now we know it can be done with 1903.

    See'ya,
    Robert
     
  2. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,006
    @Roberteyewhy

    Like to Krusty said. It's good to hear the solution worked.
     
  3. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    US
    Do not mean to HG this tread. Windows Sandbox; took me a day to figure how to get the internet to work...not if you have a VPN running on the host. And, I must bridge the network connections to have it to work.

    Robert
     
  4. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    813
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Malwarebytes for Windows v3.8.1.2950 - 1.0.608 BETA

    Announcement & Changelog: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/248453-38-beta/

    New Features
    • Improved detection and remediation techniques
    Major Bug Fixes

    • Fixed: MBAMService connectivity issue in presence of 3rd party LSPs (Identity Cloaker, HideMyIP)
    • Fixed: GSOD related to MWAC DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    • Fixed an issue where Web Protection would continue to block/unblock whitelisted URLs until the machine was rebooted
    • Fixed an issue where Web Protection could interfere with IPv6 connectivity
    • Fixed: MB3 erroneously registers with Windows Security Center on Windows 10 1903
    • Fixed: KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR (7a) BSOD that occured during rootkit scan
    • Fixed: minor issues with multi-language support

    The official download URL will be available soon. Beta update through the MB3 application itself for now if you are interested.

    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2019
  5. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    813
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Malwarebytes for Windows v3.8.1.2960 - 1.0.612 BETA2

    Announcement & Changelog: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/248453-38-beta/?do=findComment&comment=1318893

    * This second beta fixes a problem where the product runs in Free mode yet real-time protections are shown as on.

    The official download URL will be available soon. Beta2 update through the MB3 application itself for now if you are interested.

    Thank you.
     
  6. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    813
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    The release version of 3.8.3.2965 - 1.0.613 has been published.

    Announcement & Changelog: MB3.8 is here

    As usual, the update's distribution is being throttled. You may try to encourage the installation through the MB3 GUI -> Settings -> Application -> Application Updates -> Select the "Install Application Updates" button.

    If you are an early adopter you may download the installer from hxxps://downloads.malwarebytes.com/file/mb3

    Thank you.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,156
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,768
    Malwarebytes is Now Enforcing Lifetime Licenses to One PC
    July 9, 2019
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...is-now-enforcing-lifetime-licenses-to-one-pc/
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,675
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I have two separate lifetime licenses, one from legacy MBAM and one from a legacy lifetime MBAE beta that they converted, so this shouldn't affect me.

    But if it does, I will just drop it one machine. Installed, but only use it with all RT protection disabled, with on-demand scans.
     
  10. JasonUK

    JasonUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    UK
    I had MBAM installed on my main PC and an old laptop that I'd forgotten about so was puzzled when latest update generated the 'too many activations' message. Downgrading the old laptop to use MBAM as an on-demand scanner cleared the issue. The bigger issue I had was linking my lifetime licence to an account as it had been purchased with a now defunct email address. Malwarebytes support were great though, switching email addresses and linking licence to new email address/malwarebytes account.
     
  11. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    889
    It's still not possible to convert that (single) lifetime license from PC to Mac?
     
  12. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,140
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    No. There was never a Lifetime License for Mac. Mac licenses are all 1 year paid subscriptions for Premium (Real Time). Free for on demand like on a PC.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  13. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    871
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    I have a Life-time license for MBAM, used it for about a month now collecting dust.
    Now MBAE the same type license, and use it most of the time. Light-weight not a resource hog like MBAM.

    Don't like how they phone home all the time.
    google is their next door neighbor.:eek:

    What other choice? Sophos is just a Brit of google, they wreck SBIE and HMAP
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,017
    MBAE uses a perpetual license because endless beta for a longer period now - its free but maybe you have to deal with feedback - anyhow block it with any kind of firewall, where is the problem? and ofc its not familiar with google, who told you that wrong? its absoluty wrong!
     
  15. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Triassic
    Just wondering why some release updates result in the user losing access to a registered license, especially if the user upgraded to the Pro/Premium/Lifetime on that very same system years beforehand. One assumes that the software updater checks for and keeps the license status/key before completing the update. The MBAM forum has some interesting posts on the subject. Rel 3.8.3 might be overly aggressive in weeding out misuse.
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,156
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The problem was that many people who had a lifetime license had the license activated on more than one machine. The lifetime license is only good for one machine. Apparently you could get away with that in the past. MB have stopped that now.
     
  17. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    813
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
  18. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,130
    Location:
    Germany
  19. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    648
    Location:
    Canada
    You need to be an Honorary member to view these.
     
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,130
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi

    Yes you need a Forum Registration for this

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,354
    Not just a registration, you do need to be an honorary member. I logged in and don't have permission to view the content
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,560
    Which also means if you are participating there should be no posts here.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,756
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Right as it is a Private Beta at this time!

    2019-07-23_10-48-48.png
     
  24. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,063
    Yep, and those who are invited to participate should have received an email from Malwarebytes (at least I found one in my inbox earlier this week).
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,156
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.