Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by LagerX, Mar 24, 2014.

  1. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,618
    Am at version [2.0.1.1004]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1 Build 1004 released

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.1 Build 1004
    04.04.2014

    Whats New
    Improvements
    • Database is now updated automatically after installation
    • Notifications are no longer displayed if the Dashboard is in focus to reduce redundant information
    • Significantly reduced the size of all tray notifications
    • Reduced the intensity of the colors used for tray notifications and status banners in the Dashboard
    • Database out of date and scan has never been run notifications now reduced in severity to orange instead of red
    Issues Fixed
    • All scheduled scans should now run without popping up the main UI so that users are not interrupted

    Download: Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2014
  3. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    For whatever reason, version 2.0.1.1004 starts even though it is set not to. Not at boot, just at some random time.
     
  4. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Re: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1 Build 1004 released

    Thanks hayc59!
     
  5. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    228
    So here's the scoop.

    In about 2-3 weeks we're going to release yet another patch that will fix about ~30 bugs that have been reported or we've discovered. We wanted to make sure the UI issues were addressed first since we had some really great feedback from everyone.

    Thanks everyone for the support and suggestions, they are always welcome! :D
     
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,960
    Re: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1 Build 1004 released

    Updated without a hitch...:)

    ScreenShot_MBAM_v2.0.1.1004_01.gif

    ScreenShot_MBAM_v2.0.1.1004_11.gif
     
  7. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Re: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1 Build 1004 released

    Your welcome
     
  8. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Malwarebytes support team;

    please fix the bug that directs a user already logged in as administrator to log in as administrator in order to install MBAM or to install an an upgraded version.

    I have a lifetime license for MBAM.
    I have one account on my computer.
    it is 'computer administrator' with my name and is password protected.
    When I attempt to upgrade I get a prompt to log in as administrator.
    Even when I follow the directive, I again am prompted to log in as administrator.

    I faced the very same problem when I attempted to install version 2.0.00.1000 over version 1.75. I had to completely uninstall version 1.75 and then manually remove the left over files, registry entries, and fragments in order to install 2.0.00.1000.

    My OS is XP Home Edition, SP-2.

    Elimination of this bug would be greatly appreciated.
     
  9. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,093
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Hello Robin A.:

    You would do well to report these to: Malwarebytes False Positives File Detections

    HTH :)
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,913
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks for the update!

    Another annoyance I've noticed is I have MBAM pinned to my task bar in W7 and when I click the MBAM icon, OK the UAC I need to click the task bar icon again to bring MBAM into focus.

    And a reminder of my other issue is the white popup on shutting down / restarting my two W7 x64 machines.

    Thanks!
     
  11. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    Why isn't self-protection enabled by default?
     
  12. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    228
    That's been fixed on W7 in the patch building coming in 2-3 weeks, thank you!
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,913
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    :thumb: Thank you, Marcin, and thanks also for providing a free version for as long you have and continue to do as well. :cool:
     
  14. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,339
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Installed the version update. Did a right click "Threat Scan" on a 19K text file - just to check it out. The scan took 7:15 minutes! Is this normal?
     
  15. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    595
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Updated to new version. Did a 'threat scan' after on 36GB of data, took 8:48 mins.
     
  16. AdvancedSetup

    AdvancedSetup Security Expert

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
    This is certainly an OS issue and has to happen with any similar software that makes changes to the entire system. Is this Windows XP 64-bit ? If not then why are you still on Service Pack 2 ? There have been thousands of fixes and updates since SP2 and in fact Microsoft is discontinuing further updates to XP starting this April 8, 2014

    I am more than happy to assist you in taking a look at your computer and seeing what's wrong and fixing it if you like. Simply post a request for help on our forum.

    Thank you.
     
  17. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    I just had this same issue when updating on Windows 7 x86. The workaround was to close MBAM and then open it again by right-clicking the icon and selecting "run as administrator" - then I could run the installer. I also use an Admin account.
     
  18. rainbow1112

    rainbow1112 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    77
    still no auto update from v1 to v2?

    How do i find my serial key too?
     
  19. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
  20. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,271
    Location:
    UK
    Oh well, looks like I will have to wait for the BSOD i had to be possibly fixed :(
     
  21. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    228
    I'm almost certain that's been fixed in the patch in testing right now. If you'd like to test it, just shoot me a message! :cool:
     
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,804
  23. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,980
    /rant
    Please add an option for premium users to disable Ads/Infos while scanning.
    (nevertheless i run it as free/start on demand)

    German translation is still buggy and faulty and in some cases to long
     
  24. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I was finally able to instrall the new version by booting into safe mode. From there, everything ran smoothly.

    To AdvancedSetup;
    In response to post #341:
    I am running 32 bit XP-SP/2 because SP/3 offers nothing I need.
    I am well aware of 'end of life' regarding XP but see that as no compelling reason to ditch an operating system with flaws and acknowledged vulnerabilities for a newer operating system with it's own particular flaws and vulnerabilities.
    So thank you for the reply, but I don't intend to leave XP. I will leave MBAM and not look back should it ever become incompatible with XP.

    http://www.zdnet.com/hell-no-we-wont-go-10-reasons-some-xp-users-refuse-to-upgrade_p2-7000026539/
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2014
  25. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,093
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    @wtsinnc:

    I really do hope, for your sake, your XP SP2 system doesn't become "low hanging fruit" for the badware of tomorrow. :doubt:

    Best wishes to you.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.