Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.1.0 - early preview build.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by 1PW, Feb 26, 2015.

  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Same here. Installed over existing public release, did scan, checked out protection modules. Previous settings still there. No problems to report. New UI okay with me,
     
  2. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I am loving the new interface...What a positive overhaul from the previous version.

    Plus, it seems to run a lot more smoother on my end, than the previous version.

    I like it so far.
     
  3. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Installed over 2.0.4.
    So far so good.
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,618
  5. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,315
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,008
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I also installed straight over the latest public release 2.0.4.1028 and it seems to be running fine here. My settings were carried over too.

    Scan speeds [including Rootkit Scanning] are still over 20 minutes on my system with Heuristic Analysis being the longest part of the scan. :(

    The GUI... I guess I'll get used to it. ;)
     
  7. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    bdubrow, on 03 Mar 2015 - 3:00 PM, said:

    For those reporting longer scan times, can you let us know if a subsequent scan with 2.1 takes the same amount of time, or is it any quicker?
    We're looking into this now and off the top of my head there are a few items that could be contributing to this.
    First, we did include some new rules to allow us to better detect certain types of threats and these are used during the heuristic scan. Depending on your system, you may be seeing some increased scan times due to these rules.

    Second, please note that since the automatic update is now the first part of every scan the time required for the update is added to the overall scan time. In most cases this should only cause a minimal difference though.
    One thing we can do to improve performance is to optimize the database. We're due to do that again here shortly so that we only include rules that are actively being used. That typically helps improve scan time performance.
    In the meantime, please know we're digging into this more deeply. We appreciate the detailed reports you've provided.
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,008
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Cool! Thanks for the heads-up.

    I'm glad to hear MBAM are looking into it. :thumb:
     
  9. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I guess I would put up with a slightly longer scan if it's more in depth.
     
  10. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,618
    I suspect the Legal Team at Malwarebytes will be after them to take down the bogus software entirely.
     
  11. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I posted the link over there.
     
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,618
    The Malwarebytes Team are actively pursuing this. Many sites that we hosting the bogus software are no longer but unfortunately, it's still out there.

    More as there is more.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,008
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  14. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    Updated automatically to 2.1.1.1010. That ugly dashed line around any tab that you selected is gone now :)
     
  15. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    yeah i noticed that too. thank god it's gone.
     
  16. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,315
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    Received it here also, running fine. :)
     
  17. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Same here no problems, received my update at 6:02 EST.
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,706
    Location:
    USA
    Is this a final release you guys are talking about now, or still a beta? TY
     
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,008
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Still early beta.
     
  20. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,106
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    The dashed lines are there to assist the visually impaired use screen readers like JAWS.

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2015
  21. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,706
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, Krusty.
     
  22. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,017
    and still some annoying advertisement while scanning for paid users without any option to disable. in short: bullsh*t
     
  23. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    New beta version working good here. I liked the scan bar status in the previous public release UI better.
     
  24. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,106
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Beginning with version 2.1, the ad pane is vacated from all windows except a scan in progress window. That scan window can now be minimized to the Windows task bar.

    Cheers.
     
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,017
    i dont want it in any windows - as a paid user. "i paid so dont bother me with ads."
    nevertheless i like the new "progress bar"
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.