Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ZeroVulnLabs, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    No, never had it on this machine but I think the likely culprit may be HMP.alert.
    Tried opening Chrome, Firefox and IE11 (one at a time) with both HMP.alert and MBAE installed and Firefox and IE11 both work fine. Chrome opened but could not load any websites.
    Uninstalled HMP.alert and Chrome works perfectly with MBAE. Reinstalled HMP.alert and the problem returned. Have now uninstalled HMP.alert again and all is fine.
    Strange that that combo 'appeared' to be working yesterday (and with the beta for the past several months). Could the fact that the problem only seems to exist with Chrome be associated with Chromes built in sandboxing. There was an update to Chrome a couple of days ago - could there have been anything in that update that has caused an incompatibility. If my chrome browser didn't update until I switched on today that could be why I didn't get this problem until today.
     
  2. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Just bought my license. Congrats on the release!
     
  3. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,615
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    PC Mag Review:

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2459429,00.asp

    From the text:


    "Fiddling Around
    So, if testing real-world exploit protection is so difficult that even for the world's top experts, is there any way I could get hands-on experience? It turns out that Mr. Balasz had recorded over 30 exploits using the Fiddler Web Debugger. He supplied me with the recorded sessions and included instructions on how to play them back using Fiddler...

    Once I had the test system configured correctly, testing was a cinch. A couple of the exploits didn't seem to work right, possibly due to my inexperience with Fiddler. But not a single one got past Malwarebytes. Kafeine also came through with a half-dozen compromised real-world websites, one of them a well-known retailer. Malwarebytes handled these too.

    A Useful Protection Layer
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Premium provides a useful, lightweight layer of protection that you just don't get from other kinds of security products. I'll be running it alongside my regular security suite. The free edition protects Java and popular browsers, which will be enough for many. But if you're seriously concerned about the kind of targeted attacks that often come cloaked in documents or PDF files, you'll want to spring for Premium."
     
  4. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the detailed report. This makes a lot of sense now.
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,786
    ZDNet:

    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit aims to stop unknown threats to Windows
    http://www.zdnet.com/malwarebytes-anti-exploit-aims-to-stop-unknown-threats-to-windows-7000030524/

     
  6. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    740
    Location:
    United States
    I had the same experience though I hadn't tried HMP.alert till today so I can't say that it was a Chrome update that did it. Uninstalled HMP.alert and all back to normal.
     
  7. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    A lifetime subscription can indeed be sustainable if it is priced right for the vendor.

    I too think you need to come up with a lifetime subscription price and put it out there.

    Probably 2.5x the single year cost is the right formula.
     
  8. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I just don't see paying yearly for such a tool, especially if a free alternative can achieve the same goal - Microsoft EMET.

    For a tool such as this, I do feel that a lifetime license is worth it, just not a yearly price.
     
  9. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    I wouldn't pay for a subscription for this type of software...Unlike a AV it doesn't need hourly\daily maintenance with definitions...Its a kinda works or doesn't work software, if its working it will sell.

    I meant to say I would pay for a lifetime licence.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014
  10. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,282
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I am running the Beta now...3.0100..So what do i have to do to start using the the Paid Premium. Do i need a uninstall tool or just uninstall it and get the paid one.
     
  11. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Simply install the new version on top of the beta and it will upgrade. This will install the Free. If you want to unlock Premium go to the About tab and click on Activate to enter your license key.
     
  12. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,615
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  13. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
  14. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,615
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Yeah but the last page was talking about the release of MBAE so I got confused. But even still. Two MB threads with the same number of replies is some sort of synchronicity. Carl Jung would be proud lol. Jung would say it is evidence of a collective unconcious. Jung from beyond the grave endorses MBAE as now being part of the collective unconcious. You guys at MB have had a universal impact with MBAM and MBAE :):)

    MBAE IS the future:

    One of Jung's favorite quotes on synchronicity was from Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll, in which the White Queen says to Alice: "It's a poor sort of memory that only works backwards"
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014
  15. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
  16. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    What is the difference in the free version of AE, and the premium?
     
  17. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    USA
  18. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    USA
    Is it true that there's no Browse button in the Premium version to help with adding new Shields?
     
  19. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks you! I tried using the free version today, and saw that a lot of applications were not protected with the free version. I wanted to be sure there was not anything else I was not aware of.
     
  20. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, thank you!
     
  21. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    This is not correct.
    In MBAE Premium you can add custom shields.
     
  22. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    USA
    I understand that, but is there a "Browse" button to help with this, or do you have to literally type/input the path yourself?
     
  23. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    There's no need to type the path, only the filename, i.e. "skype.exe"
    ScreenHunter_56 Jun. 13 20.27.jpg
     
  24. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    USA
    Got it! Thank you.
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,786
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.