Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ZeroVulnLabs, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,015
    From 1.08.1.1031 to 1.08.1.1039 on Windows 10 Pro x64.
    No problems so far.

     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015
  2. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Not running Kaspersky or Comodo... Is there any reason not to just continue on with 1031? That is, any improvements in features or protection going to 1039? And is this a "beta" as there's nada on it at https://www.malwarebytes.org/support/releasehistory/

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 16, 2015
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,015
    1039 is beta, your 1031 is beta too..... :D
    Latest Stable: 1.07.1.1015
    All 1.08.1.xxxx are beta preview of the upcoming MBAE 1.08.
    https://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?/topic/172363-mbae-108-beta-preview/
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015
  4. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    This 1039 gives no issues with Comodo FW 8.2.0.4591 (actually as all last releases).
     
  5. haakon

    haakon Guest

    I did end up noticing the "malwareb172363-mbae-108-beta-preview" in pbust's #2725 post and I was too lazy to back and edit out the inquiry in my post.

    I didn't know all 1.08.1.xxxx are beta preview. Thanks!

    I'll stay with 1031. And probably be dead and buried (with my PC, of course) before 1.08.stable is released. :D
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,015
    o_O

    The previous stable version released gust few months ago!
    1.07.1.1015 : July 24, 2015
     
  7. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Yes, I know (I've been running Premium since 1.06). I am always reluctant to run betas and the first 1.08 went out on Sept 05 with what I noticed was markedly improved protections. So, I finally installed 1031 about a week or so ago for that.
     
  8. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Toronto
    W7-64 OK
     
  9. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,633
    Version 1.08.1.1039 seems to have fixed the compatibility issue with KIS 2016. Thanks, Pedro.
     
  10. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,498
    Location:
    Italy
    @ZeroVulnLabs

    It can give some more explanation about the settings under:


    1.JPG

    2.JPG

    TH.
     
  11. powaa

    powaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Dr Web and ClamAv detect MBAE 1.08.1.1039 beta as false positive.

    ~ Removed VirusTotal Linked Results as per Policy ~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 18, 2015
  12. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    There are some other minor internal fixes, but if 1031 runs well for you, from a protection perspective it's the same.
    As for the releasehistroy, that's for general release versions, not beta versions.

    Awesome, thanks for confirming Solarlynx! :)

    Thanks for confirming Buddel!

    The Application Hardening (Layer0) technique prevents the depcrecated vbscript.dll from even loading in IE. The Application Behavior Protection (Layer3) technique does not prevent vbscript.dll from being loaded in IE, but prevents certain process creation API calls from it which have been identified being used by Exploit Kits.

    The sun came out today.
    Dr. Web has false positives with MBAE.
    The sun will come out tomorrow.
    Dr. Web will ...[finish the sentence].
     
  13. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    I am sticking with 1.08.1.1031.
    Can I ask, if I purchase the "premium" product will I be able to change the settings and clear the logs from my Standard user account or will I have to log on as administrator to do that.
     
  14. powaa

    powaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    [finish your software].
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Is 64bit version of Firefox supported? I'm currently using Firefox 42 Beta 7 64bit. Is it fully supported or only 32bit version?
     
  16. haakon

    haakon Guest

    FYI: I'm running Cyberfox 41.0.3 X64-Intel Portable and I get an "...is protected" notification and a log entry as well as mbae64.dll injection into cyberfox.exe by the Cyberfox Shield.

    So, the library exists and the determining factor might be if MBAE's Firefox Shield will need to be tweaked or not. I'm curious about that myself...
     
  17. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    No. Both the Free and Premium modes function the same way in regards to settings and admin vs LUA accounts.

    Lol, nice try. But still wrong answer. It is their responsibility to control their FPs.

    As long as it's called firefox.exe and mbae64.dll injects into it, it is supported.
     
  18. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I am curious about ones take on running MBAE and Sandboxie together, What are the benefits for running this duo?

    I understand that both achieve different tasks, but just wondering if adding extra is actually beneficial, especially when I can just run one over the other.

    Any feedback is greatly appreciated :)
     
  19. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    I have MBAE + SBIE combo on one my PC without resident AV. It runs smoothly. As for benefits - as someone's footnote says (sorry for my bad memory): your security is excessive unless it's proved opposite. I prefer to have it excessive and not proved to be insufficient.
     
  20. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    and so has the new win 10 browser been added to the shields yet? I don't see it listed on my machine.
     
  21. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,633
    I'm using the latest experimental build 1.08.1.1039, and yes, Microsoft Edge for Win 10 is listed here. Maybe it is not yet listed in the latest stable build of MBAE.
     
  22. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
    Aren't all the anti-exploits already native to Edge/Win10?
     
  23. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,633
    Maybe Edge/Win10 is a bit more secure than previous versions, but it is very unlikely that it covers the same protection techniques as anti-exploit apps, such as MBAE, EMET or HMP.A, which are getting more and more advanced.
     
  24. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
  25. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,633
    Taken from the above-mentioned technet article:
    With Windows 10 we have implemented many features and mitigations that can make EMET unnecessary on devices running Windows 10.
    So with a few exceptions mentioned further down in this article, EMET is (alomost) useless for Win10 users. Hm... What about the benefits of other anti-exploit solutions?

    PS: Sorry for being a bit off-topic.

    PPS: Thanks for the link to this technet article.:)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.