Malware Removal Guide for Windows

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Brian_12, Jan 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Hi everyone. I have made a step by step guide to help users in the process of removing malware from a computer. I would like to know what you think about it. I will be updating it as I go on. I would greatly appreciate any info on how to make it better. :)

    -http://realsecurity.web.officelive.com/removemalware.aspx- Malware Removal Guide for Windows
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 12, 2011
  2. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Update:

    I have added an additonal step to the guide: Automatic Preliminary Rootkit Scan

    Comments and suggestions are appreciated.
     
  3. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I am unable to access the page. I use OpenDNS.
     
  4. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    What exactly is it displaying? Did you type in the correct address?

    -http://realsecurity.web.officelive.com/removemalware.aspx
     
  5. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I am getting this error:

    noaccess.png
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I'm getting error Error 101 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_RESET): Unknown error.
     
  7. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Try running CCleaner and see if that fixes it.
     
  8. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,777
    I can access it just fine...

    Guys, perhaps it's your DNS services.
     
  9. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I also cannot access with IE. I'm not using my own system, rather a relative's which has ClearCloud DNS.

    But, if some problem related to ClearCloud, most likely it would show a Google page saying the page doesn't exist or something similar.

    I can't test without ClearCloud right now to say whether or not it's related to it. But, I can exclude any problems with Chromium, because IE also does not load it.

    -edit-

    I can access other -http://*.officelive.com domains.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  11. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,777
    I can load it with Firefox and Google Chrome just fine. That's kinda strange...
     
  12. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,018
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I also could not load it, but homepage works fine and from there just click on the link - Remove Malware - it might work.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  13. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I still couldn't open the link provided by geohac, and yesterday I couldn't open the homepage either, but I just tried and now I could open the homepage.
     
  14. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Coupla things.

    Is it worth running Dr Web if you run HitmanPro as I think HitmanPro uses the Dr Web engine.

    For exe killing rogues, including Internet Security 2011 and Antivirus 2010 which are using rootkits, may I suggest adding RogueKiller which seems to do a good job in taking a lot of these rogues out.

    RogueKiller will also report on the hosts file and proxy settings after a scan which takes less than 5 seconds.

    May have to execute RogueKiller a couple of times if an exe killing rogue is active but it should eventually kick in.
     
  15. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Franklin, I have removed Dr. Web. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  16. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Is the problem (error) still occurring for you guys? I would like some help if this is still an issue.
     
  17. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,018
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I still can not open it, only when I go to homepage and then to the webpage, then I can even access that URL directly again until the cache is cleaned with CCleaner.
     
  18. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    I had to press the Try Again button to see the Page.

    Nice Site. :thumb:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  19. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    With Firefox 3.6.13 (Sandboxed), the web page would not display. I had to click on "Try Again", and then I was able to access the web page.

    The same thing happened with IE7 (Sandboxed). I clicked on IE7's web page reload, and then I was able to access the web page.
     
  20. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Update:

    - I have removed Dr. Web Curit.
    - I have revised the instructions for Step 2 (Run a Full Scan Using Antivirus Software).
    - I have added Re-Enable and SARDU to the guide (Additional Malware Detection/Removal Tools).

    Also, the website seems to be up and working now. Please inform me if there are any further problems.
     
  21. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Why did you remove DrWeb Cureit?
     
  22. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Because Hitman Pro uses the Dr Web engine.
     
  23. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    My impression is that DrWeb Cureit's "Express" scan may cover more areas than Hitman Pro's Default scan. My impression is based only on scan times. The few scans I have done with each gave the following approximate scan times:

    Hitman Pro Default scan: ~1.5 minutes
    DrWeb Cureit Express scan: ~30 minutes

    Have you tried to compare what files/folders are scanned by each?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  24. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks for update. Site is accessible now.
     
  25. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    No, I have not.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.