Malware Removal Guide for Windows

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Brian_12, Jan 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Hi everyone. I have made a step by step guide to help users in the process of removing malware from a computer. I would like to know what you think about it. I will be updating it as I go on. I would greatly appreciate any info on how to make it better. :)

    -http://realsecurity.web.officelive.com/removemalware.aspx- Malware Removal Guide for Windows
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 12, 2011
  2. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Update:

    I have added an additonal step to the guide: Automatic Preliminary Rootkit Scan

    Comments and suggestions are appreciated.
     
  3. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I am unable to access the page. I use OpenDNS.
     
  4. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    What exactly is it displaying? Did you type in the correct address?

    -http://realsecurity.web.officelive.com/removemalware.aspx
     
  5. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I am getting this error:

    noaccess.png
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I'm getting error Error 101 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_RESET): Unknown error.
     
  7. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Try running CCleaner and see if that fixes it.
     
  8. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    I can access it just fine...

    Guys, perhaps it's your DNS services.
     
  9. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I also cannot access with IE. I'm not using my own system, rather a relative's which has ClearCloud DNS.

    But, if some problem related to ClearCloud, most likely it would show a Google page saying the page doesn't exist or something similar.

    I can't test without ClearCloud right now to say whether or not it's related to it. But, I can exclude any problems with Chromium, because IE also does not load it.

    -edit-

    I can access other -http://*.officelive.com domains.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  11. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    I can load it with Firefox and Google Chrome just fine. That's kinda strange...
     
  12. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I also could not load it, but homepage works fine and from there just click on the link - Remove Malware - it might work.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  13. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I still couldn't open the link provided by geohac, and yesterday I couldn't open the homepage either, but I just tried and now I could open the homepage.
     
  14. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Coupla things.

    Is it worth running Dr Web if you run HitmanPro as I think HitmanPro uses the Dr Web engine.

    For exe killing rogues, including Internet Security 2011 and Antivirus 2010 which are using rootkits, may I suggest adding RogueKiller which seems to do a good job in taking a lot of these rogues out.

    RogueKiller will also report on the hosts file and proxy settings after a scan which takes less than 5 seconds.

    May have to execute RogueKiller a couple of times if an exe killing rogue is active but it should eventually kick in.
     
  15. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Franklin, I have removed Dr. Web. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  16. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Is the problem (error) still occurring for you guys? I would like some help if this is still an issue.
     
  17. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I still can not open it, only when I go to homepage and then to the webpage, then I can even access that URL directly again until the cache is cleaned with CCleaner.
     
  18. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    I had to press the Try Again button to see the Page.

    Nice Site. :thumb:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  19. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    With Firefox 3.6.13 (Sandboxed), the web page would not display. I had to click on "Try Again", and then I was able to access the web page.

    The same thing happened with IE7 (Sandboxed). I clicked on IE7's web page reload, and then I was able to access the web page.
     
  20. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Update:

    - I have removed Dr. Web Curit.
    - I have revised the instructions for Step 2 (Run a Full Scan Using Antivirus Software).
    - I have added Re-Enable and SARDU to the guide (Additional Malware Detection/Removal Tools).

    Also, the website seems to be up and working now. Please inform me if there are any further problems.
     
  21. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Why did you remove DrWeb Cureit?
     
  22. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    Because Hitman Pro uses the Dr Web engine.
     
  23. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    My impression is that DrWeb Cureit's "Express" scan may cover more areas than Hitman Pro's Default scan. My impression is based only on scan times. The few scans I have done with each gave the following approximate scan times:

    Hitman Pro Default scan: ~1.5 minutes
    DrWeb Cureit Express scan: ~30 minutes

    Have you tried to compare what files/folders are scanned by each?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  24. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks for update. Site is accessible now.
     
  25. Brian_12

    Brian_12 Guest

    No, I have not.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.