Malware experts I have a question

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Mr Wonderful, Aug 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr Wonderful

Mr Wonderful Registered Member

I'm starting my first year of college next week. So I was thinking about making a vm and get a head start on analyzing samples. I have been contemplating my setup and have come to the conclusion since I'm now a poor college student that I can only use my one computer. :'(

Now to my question, If I were to have a Dual boot system and have my Linux partition host a Windows XP VM. Is it theoretically possible for a sample to jump from the VM to my windows partition?

2. wearetheborg

wearetheborg Registered Member

What VM are you planning on using in linux?

3. Mr Wonderful

Mr Wonderful Registered Member

VirtualBox.

4. cgeek

cgeek Registered Member

I'm no expert but I would have to say no. You are safer with running the virtual machine within Linux. Let me explain.
    First off the malware would have to bypass the guest os and then have to run within Linux to be able to access the partition. IMO that would be a lot of work (if possible) for the author to implement! Second I don't even think you have write access (only read) to other partitions within Linux unless the other partition is FAT32. I use a the same setup for analyzing that you are thinking about and have never had a problem.

BTW: Good Luck in school! :thumb:

Regards,
    Cgeek

5. wearetheborg

wearetheborg Registered Member

Theoretically? Yes.
    Practically, near impossible.

Lets even assume you have ntfs-3g installed so that linux can read/write ntfs partitions. I'd recommend mounting the windows partition automatically as READ ONLY.