Malware Defender - New HIPS from China

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by johncage, Aug 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. enthios

    enthios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    The problem seems to only occur if a new release is installed over an earlier release. The file: C:\program files\malware defender\MDservice.exe, must be removed before installing a new release. Actually the MD installer should remove it during the install process, but the current release (1.1.2) does not do that.

    Workaround: COPY the folder C:\program files\malware defender\, to your desktop. Some files will not copy, that's OK. Uninstall MD, and reboot. Go to the folder
    C:\program files\malware defender\, and delete MDservice.exe. Lastly copy all the files in the new folder on your desktop back to C:\program files\malware defender\, and install the new version. Runs very well now with Low CPU usage.
     
  2. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,267
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Was My single only issue, apparenty now resolved. Further testing upcoming.

    Thanks EASTER
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    easter i noticed that you also have eqsecure,where do i go or where to get the download link,cause i found a link with alot of simbols,i think is japanese or something like that.
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,267
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    jmonge

    Please see member Alcyon's sig. I believe he also hosts rulesets to better help users make the most of EQS.

    Regards EASTER
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thanks:thumb:
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,674
    This is what i'm waiting on before purchasing.
    Still no problems thus far. :thumb:
    After network access detection is added, I may try Malware defender and Sandboxie as my only two software defense's and see how that go's. Along with my hardware firewall "AlphaShield" of course.
     
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,333
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Me, too.
     
  8. xiaolin

    xiaolin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    Malware Defender 1.1.3 beta1

    I decided to release a minor update before releasing v1.2.

    download link:
    http://www.torchsoft.com/download/md_setup_1.1.3_b1.exe

    What's new:
    - Added an option to the alert dialog to add child application to group.
    - Added support for using DELETE key to delete/kill selection in various dialogs.
    - Increased startup speed.
    - Fixed a bug of not deleting temporary rules when exiting processes.
    - Fixed a bug when scanning autostart entries with same name and data.
    - Fixed a bug when creating rules for named pipe by log.
    - Fixed a bug when handling the process priority.
    - Changed the process priority of MD to "Above Normal".
    - Changed the behaviour in leaning mode. If explicit DENY rule is found, MD will not permit the action.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: Malware Defender 1.1.3 beta1

    Thanks for the hard work:thumb:
     
  10. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    I'm glad I paid for MD, xiaolin is very active.

    Thanks for the hard work xiaolin also!
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    i also send some cash too:D he deserve it:thumb: :thumb:
     
  12. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    i use SB alone long time ago and all is ok , MD can be a great hips to avoid rootkit attack which most scared me + add general malware defender (lol) :)

    cheers
     
  13. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    Re: Malware Defender 1.1.3 beta1

    can u take alook at HIGH CPU usage this and make a fix for it 2 ?

    why did u change it in forward to come ver and no in the older ver? any specific improvement ?

    cheers
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2008
  14. xiaolin

    xiaolin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    Re: Malware Defender 1.1.3 beta1

    About the HIGH CPU usage, I can not recreate the problem. Normally, the mdservice.exe should be terminated when exiting the MD UI.

    I changed the process priority of MD to make it working well when other programs cause high CPU usage.

    Thanks
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: Malware Defender 1.1.3 beta1

    i dont get any HIGH CPU usage here it is as fast as a bird:D
     
  16. xiaolin

    xiaolin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    248
  17. hammerman

    hammerman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Posts:
    283
    Location:
    UK
    Since changing from EQS to Malware Defender, I've noticed a general slowdown of my PC. When I came to my routine checks, I noticed Autoruns and HijackThis now take an age to run. Perhaps it's all the registry scannng these programs do. Just a thought.
     
  18. hammerman

    hammerman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Posts:
    283
    Location:
    UK
    Uninstalled MD and computer flying again.
     
  19. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
  20. xiaolin

    xiaolin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    Re: Malware Defender 1.1.3 is released

    Thanks for the suggestion. I will add this feature to my to-do list. :) But there are other features have higher prioirty than this one.
     
  21. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
  22. xiaolin

    xiaolin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    "put child application in group" only be enabled when creating new process. The "child application" is the process being created.
     
  23. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    10x for fast reply mate.. so in which group 2 put it ? the first or in the sec?
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2008
  24. xiaolin

    xiaolin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    You can put the parent app and child app to different groups. If you do not like to use groups, just leave it unchecked.
     
  25. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,674
    xiaolin,
    excellent app, thank you. waiting on next release before buying. Impressed so far though. :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.