Malware Defender "firewall"

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ellison64, Sep 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    What are the opinions of folks here of the MD network protection?(default setup straight out of the box).For those who like to use a software firewall for outgoing apps ,would MDs be adequate?.Does it interfere with other firewalls such as windows firewall ,or third party ones?.
    tia
    ellison
     
  2. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    For basic outgoing protection, Malware Defender is quite adequate IMHO. It fails the Comodo Leak Test Suite DNS test in the testing that I have done. I have used MD with Jetico for a long time without issue. I have also played around in a VM with MD and Kerio 2.1.5, PC Tools FW 6, Outpost, Visnetic, and probably a few others that are escaping me at this time. All of these firewalls plugged the DNS test failure I mentioned earlier. I didn't have any issues as long as I rebooted once in learning mode after installing the FW.
     
  3. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    ellison, MD's FW is an adequate network protection, only if it is combined with a hardware FW.

    I use hardware (zyxel) firewall, windows XP FW, MD & Sandboxie. Thats all my protection, combined with on demand scans with Cureit & AntiMalware.
     
  4. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    341
  5. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    The MD firewall is based on the Base Filtering Engine, the built in packet filter of Windows that is also the core of Windows firewall, so it seems pointless to run both the MD firewall and Windows Firewall. Correct me if I am wrong.
     
  6. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    I think you are right. I maybe drop windows FW
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.