making a security plan to protect my computers

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by wampmonster, Dec 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wampmonster

wampmonster Registered Member

Hello
    I am not a security professional. I run a business from home with two desktop computers. They both run Windows 7. Mostly they don't form a network except when I use a wireless transducer. The main internet is ethernet.

Anyway, I need a plan of backups in case I get hit by cryptolocker or something just as nasty.

I have: two external hard disk drives, paragon installed on both computers, and antivirus on both computers - Kaspersky on one and avast and malwarebytes on the other. Thus I don't know the following:

- how often should I backup to my external hard drives? Too soon and the external backup could become useless due to also being malwared. Too seldom and I could risk not having backed up a ,lot of recent business documents.

- anything else that I should do?

Thank you.

p.s I don't know if this is the right thread. If not please move it to a better one.

Last edited: Dec 20, 2013
  2. MrBrian

MrBrian Registered Member

1. Make sure whatever software you use for backup has file versioning, meaning that you can retrieve previous versions of files if necessary.