Making a non-primary snapshot Primary

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Chamlin, Sep 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Tried to install XP sp3 on my old laptop to be able to use the current version of Emsi's Anti-malware. sp3 boots up but once the desktop is there it locks up and is non-functional.

    Fortunately, you guys have smartened me up enough that I ran a snapshot just prior to the install. FD-ISR boots fine to my "pre-XP-sp3" snapshot.

    How do I make that Primary?

    Thanks,
    Chamlin
     
  2. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Anyone? *puppy*
     
  3. WWS

    WWS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    249
    If I follow you correctly, you need to boot to your pre-xp snapshot. Then under "Actions" select "Copy/Update
    Snapshot."
    Follow the Wizard: select the source, select the destination.
    Then you can rename your new updated "Primary" and boot back.
     
  4. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Thanks. So...am I following you correctly?

    1. I select the source (the snapshot I want to revert to as primary)
    2. Choose "New Snapshot" ? Is this right?
    3. FD-ISR asks for a name. Do I name it Primary? Or "Make this primary"
    4. Complete the process
    5. Then do I delete the old/bad Primary? And rename "Make this primary" to Primary? Can you delete the Primary?

    Thanks for reviewing.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    Why not just:

    1. Boot to the good snapshot
    2. Do a copy/Update of the bad Primary snapshot
    3. Boot back to the Primary.

    Pete
     
  6. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    ok, if, if, if, I am understanding you correctly, with FD-ISR you can use any bootable snapshot as your primary, the program makes no difference or preferences over bootable snapshots. Just choose your favorite and make it your primary, if renaming it to "Primary" makes things more logical for you, then OK. That was one of the several brilliant magical features of FirstDefense: if it was bootable, it "is" your primary until the next time you change your mind like I did dozens of times (or was it hundreds).

    Acadia
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2013
  7. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Oh! The obvious. Basic functionality. Haven't had to do this in so long I forgot. So is this how it goes?

    1. Boot to the good/working snapshot
    2. Do a copy/Update of the good/working snapshot to Primary
    3. Boot back to the Primary.


    Many thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.