Making a disc NOT ACTIVE!

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by 238drac, Jul 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I read that thers is supposed to be only 1 disc with an active partiton ever.
    I have four drives, 2 active parftitions on 2 different Drives.
    Only 1 contains an os.
    How do I UNACTIVATE the other drive?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Don't worry about it.

    If you have more than one physical drive and any of the partitions are Primary, then at least one will also be active. It's perfectly normal and shouldn't cause any problems.
     
  3. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Well I think it is.
    I am trying to HIDE the partition from within OSS.
    But it wont let me.


    By the way,
    If I am not using an OS on the drive is there a benefir to using a Primary over a Logical partition?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If the partition on the drive isn't going to be booting Windows then you can create a Logical partition (those don't get marked active).

    You shouldn't be having a problem hiding an active partition, unless its the booting partition for the OS (or OSS has done the "locked checkbox" bug and won't let you check the "hidden" checkbox).

    Is either of the "Active" or "Hidden" checkboxes grayed out so you can't check or uncheck them?
     
  5. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Yes the Actie is greyed out.
    What bug are you speaking of?
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The "bug" is when the "Active" checkbox is grayed out and checked and the "Hidden" checkbox is grayed out and checked (or unchecked). This doesn't sound like your case.

    Can you post a screenshot of DD showing the partitions and a screenshot from OSS showing the Partitions section where you are trying to make the partition hidden?
     
  7. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Yes but not till later as it is at another cpu.

    The "Bug" does sound like what I am faced with.
    If that is the case how do I fix it?
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You simply edit the bootwiz.oss file (located in the BOOTWIZ folder). See this thread for more information.

    If you can't see the BOOTWIZ folder, you'll have to enable viewing of Hidden and System files in Windows Explorer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.