Major problem

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Joliet Jake, Nov 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi,

    I was adding some partitions and folders to the exclusion list in NOD V3.0.563 when the whole system froze. It remained unresponsive and I had to do a reset. When the PC rebooted it would be fine for 20-30 seconds before freezing up again.

    In the event viewer, applications, there was an error message for ekrn.exe


    I tried to uninstall NOD but the uninstaller kept popping up an error message and the upshot was I couldn't uninstall NOD.
    I tried the uninstaller in the NOD folder in programs and that didn't work either.
    Couldn't do it in safe mode either.


    How can I uninstall NOD?

    XP Home with the following security applications running:-
    Comodo V2.4 firewall
    Threatfire

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,889
    Location:
    Texas
    I would try a reinstall, and then uninstall.
     
  3. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    i think you have exclusion eset folder
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    System Restore to a date before the problem occured may also help fix anything else that may have caused the problem . Then you can follow Ron's advice to reinstall+uninstall
     
  5. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks for the advice guys. My system restore is switched off.

    When I try to reinstall I get the following message pop up...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 19, 2007
  6. fredra

    fredra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Posts:
    366
    @JJ
    I feel your pain, sorry about that. :mad:
    If I may make a suggestion, in trying to help.
    Can you disable/uninstall Threatfire, before re-installing NOD, then try to uninstall NOD with TF still not installed?
    I am not saying that TF is the problem, just a process of elimination, in trying to place the machine in a condition that you can remove or maniplulate the AV.
    Just a suggestion.
    Cheers :)
     
  7. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    OK guys. Firstly thanks for all the advice.

    I eventually sussed it out. All the services in Computer Management were disabled!!!:eek: I've no idea how that happened.

    I set each one to automatic and rebooted, then I could uninstall NOD32 and reinstall it.

    So everythings sorted now and this thread can be closed.

    Thanks again.

    JJ:cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.