Major problem

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Joliet Jake, Nov 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi,

    I was adding some partitions and folders to the exclusion list in NOD V3.0.563 when the whole system froze. It remained unresponsive and I had to do a reset. When the PC rebooted it would be fine for 20-30 seconds before freezing up again.

    In the event viewer, applications, there was an error message for ekrn.exe


    I tried to uninstall NOD but the uninstaller kept popping up an error message and the upshot was I couldn't uninstall NOD.
    I tried the uninstaller in the NOD folder in programs and that didn't work either.
    Couldn't do it in safe mode either.


    How can I uninstall NOD?

    XP Home with the following security applications running:-
    Comodo V2.4 firewall
    Threatfire

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    I would try a reinstall, and then uninstall.
     
  3. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    i think you have exclusion eset folder
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    System Restore to a date before the problem occured may also help fix anything else that may have caused the problem . Then you can follow Ron's advice to reinstall+uninstall
     
  5. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks for the advice guys. My system restore is switched off.

    When I try to reinstall I get the following message pop up...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 19, 2007
  6. fredra

    fredra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Posts:
    366
    @JJ
    I feel your pain, sorry about that. :mad:
    If I may make a suggestion, in trying to help.
    Can you disable/uninstall Threatfire, before re-installing NOD, then try to uninstall NOD with TF still not installed?
    I am not saying that TF is the problem, just a process of elimination, in trying to place the machine in a condition that you can remove or maniplulate the AV.
    Just a suggestion.
    Cheers :)
     
  7. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    OK guys. Firstly thanks for all the advice.

    I eventually sussed it out. All the services in Computer Management were disabled!!!:eek: I've no idea how that happened.

    I set each one to automatic and rebooted, then I could uninstall NOD32 and reinstall it.

    So everythings sorted now and this thread can be closed.

    Thanks again.

    JJ:cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.