Major problem with VirusScan Enterprise

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Hitman3266, Apr 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hitman3266

    Hitman3266 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Hello, well i have used mcafee virusscan enterprise before. now im trying to reinstall it (after like 8 months) and like after 20 reformats, i now have windows XP sp2. (before i had sp1) and after i install it, whenever i boot up, on windows it almost immediately says SYSTEM SHUTDOWN, something blah blah svchost.exe error and system will shut down in 50 seconds. i KNOW this is from the virusscan, but HOW can i stop it? is it compatible with sp2? please, i cant use it i had to go into safemode to turn off the virusscan services from starting up. i just love the speed and the backbone style enterprise versions..its 8.0i
     
  2. mcbyke

    mcbyke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Boot into safe mode, open virusscan console and disable "buffer overflow protection". In some systems, that option seems to cause windows to shut down. Windows XP SP2 is not affected by this vulnerability, so maybe that's why it crashes.
     
  3. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    it is compatible with SP2.
    you could try to stop the shutdown with "shutdown -a" and then investigate why it happens.
     
  4. Hitman3266

    Hitman3266 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    thanks, turning off the buffer overflow fixes it. i did a custom instlation without installing the buffer overflow. i would have never guessed
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Yes, but I would still keep a close eye on the updater, Framework Service, if you are auto-updating ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.