Macrium Restore

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by sportflyer, Jan 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sportflyer

    sportflyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    My current computer has 6 partition: Win RE tools, System, drive C: for OS & programs, E: Docs , Drive F for video and music, Unallocated Space.Drive D ( recovery)


    If I only image Win RE Tools, C:, and D: what will happen when I restore?

    Will the restoration image only restore to the respective locations and imaged drives or will it completely messup and overwrite E: and F: as well ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    sportflyer,

    Can you run Diskpart from an Admin Command Prompt.
    type "list vol" without the "" and press Enter.

    Can you post a screenshot of the result?
     
  3. sportflyer

    sportflyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Here's the list vol:

    list vol.jpg
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    UEFI, Win8?

    7 partitions. To backup the partition structure I suggest an Entire Drive backup image. In the future you just need to image the C: drive. You can delete the 10 GB D: drive if you like, after you have the entire drive backed up.
     
  5. sportflyer

    sportflyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    OK. I will have to get a larger ext BU drive for whole disk image. Run out of space in my current Seagate ext. HDD

    I will keep the 10G partition for now as I have so much so much space. Is 10G enough space to install Linux ?

    Tks
     
  6. sportflyer

    sportflyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I forgot to mention that the bios is UEFI .
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    An Ubuntu install uses about 4 GB.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.