Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    606
    Can Reflect 8 reliably restore images created with Reflect 6 ?
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,486
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Absolutely... (the imaging format has not changed).
     
  3. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    894
    Location:
    Lunar module
    My university teacher showed us Acronis for the first time a long time ago. I paid him a visit to wish him a Happy New Year, so he uses Macrium v6 on Windows 10, and is very happy with it.
     
  4. WinterKnight

    WinterKnight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    USA
    I always restore after a system crash (e.g., blue screen, power outage, etc.) just in case a file was corrupted. It's easy enough to do with Macrium Reflect. Regarding RDR, what is the best practice in this situation. Leave RDR on or do a full (standard) image restore?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2022 at 4:22 PM
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    My full backups have gone from 30 minutes to over 1.5 hours on my laptop and from 15 minutes to around 45 minutes on my desktop PC.
     
  6. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,019
    Location:
    Canada
    mmh,strange. I have made a full backup on two PC yesterday and I didn’t experience this problem…:thumbd:
     
  7. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    896
    Location:
    USA
    Did anything change in between the before/after elapsed times? Reflect upgrade?

    When I added verification it doubled the image time.
     
  8. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,130
    I'm experiencing similar degraded performance after upgrading from Windows 10 to Windows 11 and updating Intel RST drivers.

    Did you change anything (major) to your setup?
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    On both machines I installed Windows 10 over Windows 10 to fix an issue I was having.
     
  10. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,130
    Do you use Intel RST drivers? If so, which version?

    I upgraded them 17.11 (those were the first mentioning Windows 11 in the release notes), which may also be the cause of my performance issue?
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    How would I find out?
     
  12. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    That would leave your previous installation’s Windows folder on the disk, which would of course increase the amount of data to be backed up. Did you take a basic look at the logs of the jobs you’re talking about to see if there are any notable differences between the faster job and the slower job on each PC, such as the amount of data on each source partition being backed up? Just saying, “A recent backup took a lot longer than a previous backup” doesn’t really provide much to work with.

    If the leftover Windows folder doesn’t account for this, I’ve also seen cases where a significantly longer backup time was the result of the user unwittingly including unwanted additional partitions or entire additional disks in the backup job that took longer than they expected. That is also something that would be apparent from a quick look at a job log.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,355
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Krusty,

    Are both images about the same size?
     
  14. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,353
    i'm on 11 and have no issues with mac-ref on three rigs. but i do cold backups.
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,389
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I frequently backup to 2 SSD USB drives, and monthly to 2 USB standard drives. Sometimes with standard drives the backup starts very slow, time projection to complete the task runs into hours whereas a full backup usually takes 8-9 minutes (about 100 GB). When that happens, I cancel the backup, reboot my computer, and start the backup anew with the expected speed. Why is it happening (1 out of 10 backups) I don't know, but restarting the procedure always works.
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Windows.old has been removed.
    Very strange. I just checked the logs on my desktop PC and it looks like there is about 20GB (95.64GB) more data on my drive and it took 00:29:38. The last time the backup took less than 20 minutes it had 75.26GB, so where has the extra 20 GB come from?
    I think I just answered that.
     
  17. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,353
    strange. i never had that. could it be that your disk is dying?
     
  18. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    Mount the Windows partition from each backup at the same time and then open two instances of a folder size mapping application, such as TreeSize Free. Have one instance analyze each mounted disk. That should make it pretty clear pretty quickly where the discrepancies are.
     
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Any chance you can translate that into newbie?
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,355
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I was just about to suggest the same method.

    Run TreeSize on each mounted partition. (mounted from your backup images)
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Great! Now, how do I do that?
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,355
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    View each TreeSize side by side on your monitor and gradually compare folder sizes. Start with the major folders. Program Files, Windows, etc.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    This bit.
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    This bit.
     
  25. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    US
    The way you graduate from being a newbie is by taking information you receive and building on it with your own research to find answers rather than just waiting for people to hand everything to you. Reflect's documentation is better than most, and it’s meant to be read by people who need to learn how to do things, including how to mount or "browse" an image backup so that the partition(s) of interest in a backup can appear within Windows Explorer like an external hard drive with its own drive letter. You can mount partitions out of multiple backups simultaneously. So for example you'd mount the version of your C drive contained in Backup #1 as Drive E (or whatever) and the version of your C drive contained in Backup #2 as Drive F. Now you have those two versions of your C partition available on your system simultaneously. Then you download TreeSize Free. Launch two different instances of it, just as you can launch multiple instances of an application like Notepad simultaneously. Tell one instance to analyze your E drive (i.e. the version of your C drive from Backup #1) and the other instance to analyze your F drive (the version of your C drive from Backup #2). Put those TreeSize windows side by side, and you'll quickly be able to see which folders are different sizes, and then drill down into those folders to find the specific subfolders or files that create those differences.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.