Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,081
    Then I was unlucky in choosing the ones I tried…

    Which tool would you recommend for this?
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,233
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I use BootIt but GParted (free) is fine.
     
  3. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    866
    Location:
    Lunar module
    My removable media letters are assigned with USBDLM, and they always mount with the same letters in Windows and in Macrium WinPE.
    BootIt cannot manage partitions, probably you were writing about BootIt Bare Metal (formerly BootIt Next Generation)?
    This also works in AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard Edition (Free).
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2021
  4. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,482
    I have a Win10 pro laptop and a Win10 pro desktop. Both have modern intel processors.
    I want to take my desktop image and clone it onto free space on the laptop. (yes, I know there will be driver issues and licensing issues and I am doing this at my own risk...)
    What's the way to do it? Which partitions should I clone and which not?
    After cloning, how do I select the OS at boot?
    My goal is to have my workhorse desktop system on the laptop without wiping the laptop.
     
  5. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    So you want to add your desktop OS environment as an additional OS on your laptop rather than replacing the laptop's existing OS? In that case, clone only the Windows partition. Then I'd use a tool like EasyBCD to tweak the existing system's Windows Boot Manager BCD to add a menu item pointing to the new Windows partition you just created. Or you can use the built-in BCDEdit command-line tool if you're feeling more brave.

    But as you say, you may have trouble getting that cloned environment to boot due to boot-critical driver discrepancies. If so, the paid versions of Reflect offer the ReDeploy feature that is designed to address that. But if you go that route, make sure you choose to ReDeploy the correct Windows environment.
     
  6. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,482
    Thanks. I am wondering whether I could do the boot manager tweaking by adding Reflect as a boot option, and then running the boot recovery tool, so it will find the new OS and add it as an option.
     
  7. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    I don't know if Fix Boot Problems is designed to handle dual boot scenarios properly. I've never had an occasion to test it.
     
  8. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    940
    I, too, have been using USBDLM for YEARS. It is Free and always works!
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,233
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Both BootIt BM and BootIt UEFI can Slide the MSR. BootIt BM only works on MBR systems but it can Slide the MSR on non system GPT disks.
    BootIt UEFI can Slide the MSR on System and Data GPT disks.
     
  10. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    866
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Thank

    How do I use USBDLM to automate the process? In these examples when you plugged the external W drive, Macrium Reflect will start automatically. When Z external drive is plugged, it will start incremental backup to drive Z (according to "My Backups Win10.xml" definition file) without user interact (silent backup).
    NOTE!
    First, fix the letters for your external disks.
    There is a separate [OnArrival] section for each open= command.
    Quotes "" are required if the path contains spaces.
    If a batch file is used, the console flicker can be hidden with hidec.exe.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2021
  11. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    The parameter in the second OnArrival block should be -inc, not -ink
     
  12. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    866
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Genau. In any case, this line is copied from the properties of the shortcut, which is then deleted.
     
  13. WinterKnight

    WinterKnight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    USA
    I would like to install the free personal version of Reflect 7 on a new computer. Do I need to provide my e-mail address, or can I just leave the box blank?
     
  14. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    You can leave that blank.
    Enjoy it.
     
  15. WinterKnight

    WinterKnight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks. I tried the download link. It looks different than it used to. The box for the email id no longer says optional. I’m pretty sure it did in the past. Has something changed in the installation process for the free version?
     
  16. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Not any changes that I'm aware of.

    Here's the new one.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. jimminy

    jimminy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2020
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    USA
    Now I'm getting paranoid! Do ya think they are spying on us?

    I'm sure worried now.
     
  18. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    I sure hope not.
    I have todo backup on 6 computers.
    Here's another graphic for you guys. Look familiar?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    866
    Location:
    Lunar module
    It does not spy, but it can collect some technical information. If you block ReflectBin.exe, ReflectMonitor.exe, ReflectUI.exe, MacriumService.exe, rmbuilder.exe, reflectupdater.exe in the firewall, it will not collect anything.
    I always use the command line to turn on the classic black screen to select operating systems, like in Windows 7, and it boots faster.
     
  20. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,966
    I purchased a Home Edition v7 license on Nov 22, 2020 [Black Friday Sale]. This was upgraded to version 8 when it was released in 2021. License has been extended to May 2022.

    Subsequently, the laptop that I had installed Macrium Reflect on, died on July 18, 2021. It cannot be repaired.

    I managed to get the data off the extracted Surface Book SSD at a computer repair shop, so I have all the license details from a previously saved screenshot. Basically, had the failed laptop cloned/copied to a WD My Passport drive.

    I believe that I can transfer that license to my new laptop that I purchased on July 19, 2021.

    However, I don't know how to contact the relevant support. It seems that I have go thru a portal as per screenshot attached, but I would rather not. So is there another way to contact Macrium support, to enable transfer of my license to the new laptop?

    Macrium_portal support_01.JPG
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,564
    Location:
    USA
    Email support at macrium dot com
     
  22. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    407
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    Do you have the relevant purchase emails? One may have the licence key code on it which can be used to activate a new installation into the pro version. Mine came thru Cleverbridge.

    You can also get them to look up your details linked to your email address, go to https://portal.macrium.com/renewalwizard1?myorders & fill in the appropriate sales info, or use the bottom one to get them to email you.

    Failing that, email licensing@macrium.com with the relevant purchase details & ask them to resend the key to you. if you've lost them, let them know the email address you bought it with.
     
  23. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    US
    I don't think the issue is that the key is lost. It sounds like the issue is that the key was used on a system that later died, and therefore it isn't possible to release the license from that system the normal way in order to make it possible to reuse that same license on a new system. Macrium doesn't let you just reuse the same license key to activate a bunch of systems at the same time. But they can release the license on their end to handle situations like this and make that key usable for a new installation.
     
  24. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,966
    @kronckew

    Like you, my license was purchased through Cleverbridge. But, you have misunderstood my original post. I have all license details. However, I can't deactivate license, because the system on which I have the license has died.

    @jphughan

    You have understood the situation, exactly.
     
  25. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,966
    I have, and they responded with a robot reply, and a ticket no. Also, I had to click on a link to create an account with a password. So, I just have to wait until they decide about a new activation for my license. :D Apparently, it can take up to 3 days before they respond with a decision.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.