Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    738
    You cut off the top portion of the text where they say it's Reflect 7 Free. Right under "Why Free?".
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,384
    Location:
    Slovenia
    They've changed it so it's OK with me:
    upload_2021-6-10_16-4-14.png
     
  3. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Holaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

    I just update my license to Macrium Reflect 8 Home Edition - Single License

    But I forgot everything and I don't have any idea about how to update :rolleyes:

    AND

    The Macrium Reflect knowledgebase has been upgraded.
    Please go hxxp://knowledgebase.macrium.com/ for the latest information. :eek:

    A) Do I need to uninstall Macrium Reflect 7 Home Edition?
    B) Is the latest version of Macrium Reflect 8 stable?
    C) Can I recover my backup created with Macrium Reflect 7 once I update to Macrium Reflect 8?
    D) I am here only with the Macrium Reflect 8 downloader what are the next steps? :p

    Thanks
    Camelia

    Backup.jpg
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,373
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I am not an expert, but having recently upgraded two licenses:
    A) No
    B) There have been a flurry of updates since release (as maybe expected when released to the wider public), but for me there have been no issues at all since day 1
    C) Yes
    D) Just install, it should pick up your new license.
     
  5. yoorrik

    yoorrik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Belarus
    I see that in Macrium 8th version, German Localization is done as a separate file, this is a great progress!
    When can we wait for localization in other European languages, can you give a date?
    I also see that the German localization does not have a complete translation, for example this very important text does not have a German translation... Will this be fixed? Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 13, 2021
  6. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thanks here I goooooooooooo

    Saludos
    Camelia
     
  7. RexB

    RexB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Puget Sound
    Updated from Macrium Reflect v7 HE to v8.0.5963 HE was quick and easy. Made a new image backup to a USB HDD and WinRe rescue flash drive in ~30 minutes with no hiccups. I like it all, thanks Macrium and this forum for the tips.

    ps: The dark mode with orange highlights helps me see better what i'm doing :)
     
  8. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Hello

    I want to create an ISO File

    Which Base Win should I choose?

    In the installer I did not check "Install ViBoot" is this for Virtual Machines?

    In Rescue Media Settings I did not mark "Check for devices missing on boot"

    In Option Tab I have unchek "Add WiFI Support" (I dont have WiFI in my computer only Ethernet)

    In Devives & Drivers Tab I did not check "Use host drivers for USB devices where possible"

    A) Am I ok to continue with my Rescue Media Builder once I know which Base Win should I choose?

    B) Something else I forgot to set?

    Thanks
    Camelia

    Macrium.jpg
    01ChooseBaseWim.jpg
     
  9. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Lunar module
    WinRE for any operating system or WinPE from the item that lists your operating system. WinRE is larger and takes longer to load. There is no difference in the final result of the backup. I always choose WinPE10.
    If you are not going to mount images to a virtual machine, then leave it unchecked.
    It is possible and so, but it seems that in this case, in the absence of some necessary driver, you will not receive a message about this with a proposal to add a driver.
    Right
    You can do that, but I usually check this option.
    Yes, you can continue creating media.
     
  10. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    US
    I would recommend that you NOT check the "Use host drivers for USB devices where possible" unless you find that you actually need it. That was added primarily for people who were using Rescue Media created on WinPE 3.1 (Win7 kernel), which did not have native USB 3.x support. As a result, if those users were running Windows 7 and enabled that option, Rescue Media Builder would copy the additional USB 3.x drivers that had been installed into that OS into the WinPE 3.1 Rescue Media build. The first Reflect update that included that functionality actually just forced it on with no ability to configure it, and some users who were using more recent WinPE/RE releases found that this BROKE their Rescue Media's USB support. So it's now defaulted to off with an option to use it if you find that USB devices in your Rescue Media environment don't work. The only other case I know of where this option was necessary was to deal with a docking station that had a proprietary USB host controller chipset that required special drivers, and therefore the native USB 3.x support built into Windows wasn't enough.
     
  11. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thank you sir!

    Thanks :)

    Rescue Media created successfully :cool:

    Camelia
     
  12. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    US
    Well that's the easy part. Make sure you actually TEST it. Confirm that it boots properly, can see all internal and external storage that you would need to be able to work with in a restore scenario, can work with your various USB peripherals, can see your network locations if applicable, etc.
     
  13. jimminy

    jimminy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2020
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    USA
    And be sure to repeat all testing in the new "dark" mode. That has been the root of lots of bugs.
     
  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,352
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    This is an interesting point. In order to test my rescue media (USB flash drives) I have to enter the BIOS and change the boot sequence to USB, and once the test (or real scenario) is over I have to revert to the original boot sequence otherwise the machine won’t boot.

    With the bootable rescue media everything is done automatically by Macrium when the process is initiated within Windows. I wonder whether there is a way to bypass the BIOS boot sequence when using USB rescue media (I'm still using version 7)…
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,458
    Location:
    USA
    Are you sure you don't have a boot menu by pressing the F12 key or similar at boot time?
     
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,352
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    i've tried all possible numbers in the past, nothing seems to streamline the procedure, the BIOS way is not the end of the world, but I was wondering how is Macrium bypassing this phase.
     
  17. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    US
    I don’t think Dark Mode is available in Rescue, but even if it is, I wouldn’t consider bugs that only occur in Dark Mode to be dealbreakers in a Rescue context. I’m also not sure what “lots” of bugs you’re referring to that are related to Dark Mode.
     
  18. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    US
    What PC or motherboard model do you have? One-time boot menu keys have been a pretty standard feature for probably 15 years now. In terms of the "bypass", when you stage a restore in Windows and get prompted to restart into Rescue, you are booting into the recovery boot menu option, which relies on files that are cached on your internal hard drive. That boot method is achieved by having a Windows BCD entry in the Windows Boot Manager bootloader that points to those cached files as a boot option. But from a system firmware perspective, your system is still booting from the Windows Boot Manager instance on the hard drive just as it normally does. It's just that once the system-level boot to the hard drive completes, the bootloader there knows to boot into the Reflect Rescue environment rather than into normal Windows. This is the same mechanism that is used for dual boot scenarios where people want to have a menu asking them which OS they want to load, rather than having to muck around with BIOS options to switch back and forth between OSes. The system always boots to a single Windows Boot Manager instance, which knows about multiple possible boot paths, then you choose which you want, and it turns around and uses the selected option. So nothing is being "bypassed".

    The catch of course is that this method only works if those files are available and intact on your hard drive -- which is why that should be seen purely as a convenience and definitely NOT a replacement for "external" Rescue Media, which has no dependencies on data existing on your internal drive. But if you want to boot from a completely separate device, then you need to tell your system to do that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2021
  19. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Lunar module
    In my BIOS it is set like this
    First Boot Device [USB-HDD]
    Second Boot Device [CD-ROM]
    Third Boot Device [Hard Disk]
    I use a lot of bootable and multiboot flash drives, everything boots fine, for operational work I never need to enter the BIOS.
    I also use the Reflect integration in the boot menu.
     
  20. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,352
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I should premise that in about 5 years I've been using Macrium I have only restored an image two or three times using the USB rescue media as the restoration within Windows through bootable rescue media is too convenient as it is almost fully automated, albeit one has to be able to boot into Windows.

    I really appreciate your explanations jphughan, and now I realize that the booting splash screen from Macrium giving us the choice to boot into Windows or rescue media can be used with rescue media in USB flash drives, I tried it, it works.

    The reason I've never thought about this possibility is that I was convinced that the Macrium booting splash screen was part of Macrium's own bootable media when restoring from within Windows... Now it will be easy and fast to check the functionality of USB rescue media... Thanks
     
  21. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,352
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Thanks, I'm not as savvy as you and jphughan, but please read my reply to him...
     
  22. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    Austria
    Similar to Osaban, I also had always problems when trying to boot from an USB flash drive. Therefore my external Rescue Media is a CD (respectively DVD).

    My boot sequence is:

    "1st Boot Device: CD/DVD
    2nd Boot Device: Removable Dev. [obviously this refers to USB drives]
    3rd Boot Device: HDD"

    Until now, using the CD worked always without problems. I only had to get accustomed to the fact that after inserting the CD and turning on the computer, for a quite long time - about 5 minutes - on the screen happens absolutely nothing. The screen remains black. So in the beginning I feared that the Rescue Media does not work. In the meantime I know that it takes its time until the relieving interface of Macrium appears on the screen. ;)

    Apart from this delay, are there any disadvantages when using a CD as Rescue Media compared with a USB drive?
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,459
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Nope... both are BOOTing the equivalent of an ISO file. Speed is the only major difference.
     
  24. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    Austria
    Ah, o.k. Thanks. :thumb:
     
  25. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    US
    Happy to help, but I’m confused by what you said in the quoted section. First, that boot splash screen isn’t a Macrium thing. That’s Windows Boot Manager. It’s just not shown when there’s only one boot option, which is typically the case on Windows PCs. Reflect just registers a new boot path into the Windows BCD, which causes it to appear to give you a choice. But the new boot path that Reflect creates does NOT point to USB Rescue Media. It points to the Rescue Media file set in the staging area located on (by default) your C drive. So I’m not exactly sure what you did if you’re leveraging Windows Boot Manager to boot from USB. Did you manually create some other BCD entry using another tool? Did you move the Rescue Media staging area to your USB drive, which I don’t recommend at all? Or are you perhaps mistaken about the fact that you’re actually booting from USB in the first place when you use that menu?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.